Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Old Thompson St536 v6 Modem

    Unfortunately not. In those instances, you're most likely to be limited by the Exchange. If you were on ADSL2+ and getting those speeds, I would definitely suggest switching routers though. Unfortunately, it's one of the "joys" of living rural.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  2. #12
    Older by the minute
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whitford
    Posts
    1,666

    Default Re: Old Thompson St536 v6 Modem

    Do you have line of site to a transmitter tower? Another alternative is satellite with someone like Farmside but it does cost!

  3. #13
    Old dick-head
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    between Lower Hutt & Carterton
    Posts
    1,184

    Default Re: Old Thompson St536 v6 Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by Rock View Post
    But How do I Measure that.
    Use your browser to log in to the modem - the address is probably 192.168.1.254 and the login name is admin; leave the password blank (assuming it is still at the default settings.)

    Follow your nose and you will see the download speed there somewhere.

  4. #14

    Default Re: Old Thompson St536 v6 Modem

    Are you RD? Complain, then talk to all your neighbours who are on adsl (doesnt matter what company) and complain. The cab is scheduled to be replaced, where it is on the list depends on how many of its customers are complaining.

  5. #15
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Old Thompson St536 v6 Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by 6ix View Post
    Are you RD? Complain, then talk to all your neighbours who are on adsl (doesnt matter what company) and complain. The cab is scheduled to be replaced, where it is on the list depends on how many of its customers are complaining.
    Hahahaha aaaaah you so funny guy.

    Unfortunately that's not how it works in the slightest.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  6. #16

    Default Re: Old Thompson St536 v6 Modem

    LOL My favourite is when they ask customers to run speedtests during the week and let them know the results at different times of the day...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-04-2013, 08:15 PM
  2. Thompson TG585v7 wireless modem
    By Chris Randal in forum PressF1
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 06-05-2011, 07:05 PM
  3. ST536 USB connection
    By linw in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-11-2009, 08:11 PM
  4. Jack Thompson
    By Greven in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24-01-2006, 03:42 PM
  5. Hunter S. Thompson: RIP
    By vinref in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-02-2005, 08:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •