Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default 3x monitors from one video card

    Hey guys,

    Just wondering what the deal is with 3x monitors on a single video card these days. I've only really done dual-head, and last time I tried 3 on a single monitor, the nVidia drivers were like "Uhhhh nope not happening, can only do 2x monitors!"

    That was a while back, but what's the deal with 3x monitors from a single card, is it doable pretty much from any card these days? Or are there still restrictions? Like only certain cards will do it?

    I think all the devices will be VGA, so may well need adapters but I'm sure it's doable yeah? :-)

    Any thoughts?

    Cheers


    Chill.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  2. #2
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,994

    Default Re: 3x monitors from one video card

    Most cards do 3 these day, from midrange up at least. The box on one of mine shows up to 6 (7950) However most support only 1 VGA either directly or through a DVI-VGA adapters so that might be a problem.
    Another thing to consider is enabling onboard video if you have it for one of the monitors, I use a 760 for my main screen and the intel onboard for my 2nd monitor. There's generally a multi GPU setting in the BIOS for intel, don't know about AMD.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  3. #3
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: 3x monitors from one video card

    current gen dGPU favors Nv for multi monitor at prents, 6xx & later will driver up to 4 monitors off 1 card, where AMD require adapters., 2 x DVI, HDMI & mini DP for NV, some adapters for AMD,,,,I cant be bothered to look.
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  4. #4
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,221

    Default Re: 3x monitors from one video card

    I think AMD requires Eyefinity-capable cards. I've never used more than 2 monitors myself.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  5. #5
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,842

    Default Re: 3x monitors from one video card

    You may need a NATIVE display port monitor for monitors 3 & 4 .
    Thats display port, not via a passive adaptor.

    It all depends on the card.
    Some motherboards will allow onboard vga/DVI & display via a card to all work at the same time . Thats the easiest way .

  6. #6
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: 3x monitors from one video card

    My 6870 has 4 hanging off it.

    Anything these days will do at least 3. The new AMD motherboards often have 3 digital outputs even (DVI, HDMI and DP).
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  7. #7
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: 3x monitors from one video card

    The AMD DP ports need expensive active adapters in order to get more than 2, however NV doesnt!
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  8. #8
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: 3x monitors from one video card

    Might go try just an el-cheapo GT610 then?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  9. #9
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: 3x monitors from one video card

    Its that a rebadged 5xx series?, not sure if they do 3 at a time.
    Think you need kepler chip.
    Last edited by SolMiester; 13-01-2014 at 09:33 PM.
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Posts
    1,313

    Default Re: 3x monitors from one video card

    apu+gpu=4+MONITORS
    Have a great day.

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Monitors - Do I need a graphics card?
    By Strommer in forum PressF1
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 03-08-2013, 09:41 PM
  2. Motherboard and video card for video editing?
    By stuffed in forum PressF1
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-11-2009, 11:57 AM
  3. One video card - two monitors
    By Tukapa in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-11-2007, 09:56 PM
  4. How i know if my card supports dual monitors?
    By jamezy07 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31-07-2007, 10:11 PM
  5. Dual monitors and video capture
    By eddymcfeddie in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21-06-2005, 02:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •