Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,175

    Default Clock on 2nd monitor

    OS: 8.1 - dual monitor setup

    I would like to have a simple clock showing on my 2nd monitor, searched the 'Store' and found an app but it requires a Microsoft account to download this free app. Is it possible to by-pass this MS account?

    Or is there any other free app available? I only need a simple clock, preferrably digital.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,087

    Default Re: Clock on 2nd monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    Is it possible to by-pass this MS account?
    No. You need one to use the Store.
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  3. #3
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,034

    Default Re: Clock on 2nd monitor

    I don't think you can by-pass the account, but it's no big deal to create one. You can use a gmail address if you like and create a new one just for it if you don't want to use an existing one. Personally I use my Gmail as a login for windows 8.1 and it's my account login at the same time so I can access the store. I know a lot of people prefer not to use an online login but I find it pretty good, syncs my 3 pc's quite nicely.

    I'd be interested if you find a good free one also. I miss the windows 7 gadget which was always parked on my 2nd monitor but it's psychological, there's a clock on the shelf above it
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  4. #4
    Me
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The sunny - windy city
    Posts
    348

    Default Re: Clock on 2nd monitor

    Try HTC Home Free and easy.

  5. #5
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,175

    Default Re: Clock on 2nd monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    I don't think you can by-pass the account, but it's no big deal to create one. You can use a gmail address if you like and create a new one just for it if you don't want to use an existing one. Personally I use my Gmail as a login for windows 8.1 and it's my account login at the same time so I can access the store. I know a lot of people prefer not to use an online login but I find it pretty good, syncs my 3 pc's quite nicely.

    I'd be interested if you find a good free one also. I miss the windows 7 gadget which was always parked on my 2nd monitor but it's psychological, there's a clock on the shelf above it
    I simply don't want to use the MS account to log in to my computer.

    My local account is just fine.

  6. #6
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,087

    Default Re: Clock on 2nd monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    I simply don't want to use the MS account to log in to my computer.

    My local account is just fine.
    You won't notice any difference.
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  7. #7
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,725

    Default Re: Clock on 2nd monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    I simply don't want to use the MS account to log in to my computer.

    My local account is just fine.
    You can't have your cake and eat it too

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,965

    Default Re: Clock on 2nd monitor

    what is the name of the clock app you were looking at?

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,039

    Default Re: Clock on 2nd monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by CliveM View Post
    You can't have your cake and eat it too
    Actually you can

    When you create an account and do what ever you want, you can change your account back to Local, I do that all the time on W8.1

    As described tutorials/4842-local-account-switch-windows-8

    The only PITA thing is every time you want to sign back in again to MS Store you enter your email you registered with and they then instantly send you a confirmation code to that email to type in -- Do your "stuff", disconnect back to local account -- repeat as required each time.

    On 8.1 its actually faster than the article says, go to the start screen type in PC Settings, click it, Accounts, Connect or Disconnect: (reboot required)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_1.png 
Views:	52 
Size:	22.3 KB 
ID:	5451

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_3.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	17.5 KB 
ID:	5452

    You need to confirm as per the article -- Done.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 09-01-2014 at 01:33 PM.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    876

    Default Re: Clock on 2nd monitor

    you can just put your Microsoft Account into the Store, you don't need to use it to login to the PC to do this

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-10-2012, 05:05 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2006, 01:44 PM
  3. Dual Monitor setup - Game opening in 'wrong' monitor
    By hummingbird42 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-04-2005, 09:07 PM
  4. MSI Clock - Help please
    By mejobloggs in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-10-2003, 03:17 PM
  5. T Clock Ex
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-05-2002, 03:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •