Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Igloo question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Papamoa, Tauranga
    Posts
    1,198

    Smile Igloo question

    Hi guys.
    I know it's not computer related but hoping someone can help.
    We just purchased a Igloo Freeview box, from Harvey Norman, at a good price.
    Took a while to set it up, now have the free channels for a month so has 33 channels.
    I put a memory stick in the back, an 8 GB one.
    My question is, can one record on these boxes?
    We have a couple of Hills boxes and that records quite well and I have an external hard drive on main one.

    Ian

  2. #2
    Systems Engineer Alex B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: Igloo question

    No record, just allows for live pause.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Papamoa, Tauranga
    Posts
    1,198

    Wink Re: Igloo question

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex B View Post
    No record, just allows for live pause.
    Thank you, thats a shame.

  4. #4
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    4,080

    Default Re: Igloo question

    The other thing is that the Igloo boxes shuts down every nite by it's self so they're no good for an input to an old VCR / DVD recorder..
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Papamoa, Tauranga
    Posts
    1,198

    Thumbs up Re: Igloo question

    Quote Originally Posted by paulw View Post
    The other thing is that the Igloo boxes shuts down every nite by it's self so they're no good for an input to an old VCR / DVD recorder..
    Yes, I'd noticed that.

    I have it plugged into our VCR, which connects to TV via aerial, as my goldenoldy TV has to other inputs.

    I have recorded a couple of programs, with the VCR and comes out real nice.

    Seems like a good machine and heaps of channels, for not much cost.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Igloo question

    We have recently shifted house and couldn't make up our minds about whether or not to get Sky installed. We had been away from it for three months whilst the house was being built. We looked into Igloo, but the lack of record function and being able to skip through the ads was the deal breaker for us.

    We have a Pioneer DVR-630H DVD recorder but I assumed we would be unable to connect an Igloo to it and record off Freeview. Was I wrong about that?

  7. #7
    6146-B Billy T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    6,887

    Default Re: Igloo question

    Quote Originally Posted by paulw View Post
    The other thing is that the Igloo box shuts down every night by itself so they're no good for an input to an old VCR / DVD recorder..
    That sounds rather odd, why does it do that? There is 24 hour programming after all, and late night users would be pretty upset at finding their viewing arbitrarily terminated!

    Surely it can be programmed for 24-hour usage? Sure as hell I wouldn't buy a decoder that does that, and if I found out after purchase, I'd take it back to the supplier for a refund and buy something else! It is not fit for purpose.

    Cheers

    Billy 8-{)
    Some days it's not even worth chewing through my restraints!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Papamoa, Tauranga
    Posts
    1,198

    Thumbs up Re: Igloo question

    Quote Originally Posted by John H View Post
    We have recently shifted house and couldn't make up our minds about whether or not to get Sky installed. We had been away from it for three months whilst the house was being built. We looked into Igloo, but the lack of record function and being able to skip through the ads was the deal breaker for us.

    We have a Pioneer DVR-630H DVD recorder but I assumed we would be unable to connect an Igloo to it and record off Freeview. Was I wrong about that?
    All I have done is connect the R B G, or whatever it's called, cable direct to the VCR and records off there.

    I have just spoke, to Igloo and they said the box turns at 03:00 each day to do with software updating and it can't ne changed.

    Not to worry.

    I have 33 channels and don't have to pay close to $50 for Sky.

    I still think it's a great box and the picture is so much better, than our satellite boxes.

    Something to do with HD I believe.
    Last edited by ianhnz; 02-12-2013 at 11:54 AM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Papamoa, Tauranga
    Posts
    1,198

    Red face Re: Igloo question

    Quote Originally Posted by Billy T View Post
    That sounds rather odd, why does it do that? There is 24 hour programming after all, and late night users would be pretty upset at finding their viewing arbitrarily terminated!

    Surely it can be programmed for 24-hour usage? Sure as hell I wouldn't buy a decoder that does that, and if I found out after purchase, I'd take it back to the supplier for a refund and buy something else! It is not fit for purpose.

    Cheers

    Billy 8-{)
    As I said, before, I have just spoke, to Igloo and they said the box turns at 03:00 each day to do with software updating and it can't ne changed.

  10. #10
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    4,080

    Default Re: Igloo question

    Quote Originally Posted by ianhnz View Post
    As I said, before, I have just spoke, to Igloo and they said the box turns at 03:00 each day to do with software updating and it can't ne changed.
    Yeah that's what I heard. Surely if there is no software to update it should just ignore it. I suspect sky don't want to put any effort into getting the software fixed as they see it as a short term project.
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

Similar Threads

  1. Sky-like offering but without recording, Igloo
    By Trev in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-12-2012, 12:35 PM
  2. WinTV200 Question...Just A Simple Question.....
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 03:40 PM
  3. Linux question - CD burning question
    By johcar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-05-2007, 09:09 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-10-2004, 09:33 PM
  5. SP1 & SP2, a question.
    By JJJJJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2004, 07:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •