Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1

    Default create a system image

    recently upgraded to W7 from XP, with XP I had the O/S disk to make any repairs or add/remove programmes etc, but with W7 I didn't get a disk, the "builder" says I don't need one 'cause W7 can e.g repair itself or if necessary go back to using system restore. I see there's a "create a system image" facility, can anyone throw some light on that please?

  2. #2
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: create a system image

    Quite easy really, type backup into the search field and click on backup and restore, you will see the option for creating O/S image along with data backup
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  3. #3

    Default Re: create a system image

    what disk? I've got DVD-RW (4.7Gb) and CD-R (700Mb)

  4. #4
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,035

    Default Re: create a system image

    you really need a second hard drive, preferably an external one, to do a system image. Did you at least get a COA key for windos 7? if so you can always borrow or copy someone elses disk and use your own key if you ever need to repair/ re install.
    You do have the option to make a recovery disk as well which can be used for repairs and restoring the image file. try a search on recovery.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  5. #5

    Default Re: create a system image

    A Product I D yes, is that the same thing?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: create a system image

    No the product id is what's generated by the key. The key is 25 characters, like xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx

  7. #7

    Default Re: create a system image

    how can I get a COA key?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: create a system image

    Mm See if something like this will tell you

    If it doesnt tell you, then go back to the builder or whoever installed Win7

  9. #9
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,035

    Default Re: create a system image

    If you paid for windows 7 and it's installed on the PC then the seller must supply you with the key, normally it's a sticker affixed to the case but I leave mine attached to the case of the disk because I change cases a lot.
    It's debatable whether they must supply you with a disk but at a minimum there must be a key and a way to restore windows which can be in the form of a hidden restore partition for OEM hardware.

    Anything else and I'd suspect you have a dodgy version of windows. Maybe you have it and it's not obvious, ask whoever you got it from where your key is.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  10. #10

    Default Re: create a system image

    Hi Speedy, got 5 * 5 characters, if I ever need to use it I can get the W7 disk off the "builder" - thanks, again!

Similar Threads

  1. Free software to create image of hard disk
    By prayami in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-09-2011, 09:44 AM
  2. Create Notebook image on DVDs
    By SKT174 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18-05-2011, 01:53 PM
  3. How do I create this sort of image in CS2
    By John W in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-06-2008, 12:21 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14-06-2006, 09:16 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-12-2002, 03:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •