Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: upgrade time

  1. #21
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,925

    Default Re: upgrade time

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    I'm more of a fan of the OCZ / Samsung SSD's than the Intel ones. Intel are definitely highest on reliability, but I've had better performance from the Samsung / OCZ ones.
    i'll stick with the reliability thanks
    i've had a good run with asus boards so i might stay with that.

    i'm not to sure on the whole memory thing at the mo, still looking into the speeds and cpu speeds.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  2. #22
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: upgrade time

    Don't notice it? Were they drunk?!

    Example:
    Wife and I sat down to play Lord of the Rings Online at the same time. Her CPU was faster than mine AND I had to load more textures coz I had settings turned up. Her graphics card was better at the time, a nicer nVidia one.
    I loaded the game up, got to hero selection, chose my character, loaded the game, used a Milestone point to return to a town, loaded the new town, ran to the nearest stables, fast-travelled, loaded the new town, ran to the nearest stables, fast-travelled once again... Then my wife got to the character selection screen. Needless to see after she noticed that, she wanted a SSD too...

    So yeah, definitely notice a SSD, and even notice the difference between the two brands, Intel vs OCZ.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #23
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,925

    Default Re: upgrade time

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Wife and I sat down to play Lord of the Rings Online ........
    LOL you guys havn't changed one bit
    Tweak it till it breaks

  4. #24
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: upgrade time

    There's a significant difference in most everyday tasks with an SSD, let alone high disk throughput tasks (like, I dunno, HD video editing). If you genuinely don't think there's much difference, I can only assume you have an early gen SSD, or a poor controller :P
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  5. #25
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: upgrade time

    Quote Originally Posted by inphinity View Post
    There's a significant difference in most everyday tasks with an SSD, let alone high disk throughput tasks (like, I dunno, HD video editing). If you genuinely don't think there's much difference, I can only assume you have an early gen SSD, or a poor controller :P
    Yeah I noticed a difference even going from SATA2 to SATA3. It wasn't a big one, but noticeable nonetheless!

    Quote Originally Posted by tweak'e View Post
    LOL you guys havn't changed one bit
    Anope ! It's good to have you back mate.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  6. #26
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,925

    Default Re: upgrade time

    well the bulk of it is done.
    by god does it boot up quick
    opens up files really quick.
    still got a lot of programs to sort and files to sort out. havn't had a chance to fire up any games of yet.
    win8 is taking some getting used to.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  7. #27
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: upgrade time

    Yeah mate throw a couple of games on the SSD, it's *brilliant*!!
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  8. #28
    Senior Member sahilcc7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    903

    Default Re: upgrade time

    Quote Originally Posted by tweak'e View Post
    probably looking around $1000 or so.
    whats the current onboard graphics like these days?

    i've always had AMD, maybe a time for a change
    I just built a PC for around a grand.

    i5 4670
    ASUS b85M-E mobo
    8gb RAM

    I'm using HD 4600 onboard graphics for now. I will get an SSD and a graphics card later. The system boots very fast already with the 7200 RPM HDD. I am able to easily play games like Counterstrike Source at 1080p no issues. Just cause 2 runs a little slow but it's playable at 1080p with low settings.

    I didn't install the HD4600 graphics drivers at first and games ran very slow - counterstrike was very laggy. Then I installed drivers and everything ran *way* better! Silly me :P
    My Tech:

    i5 4670, 8GB RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HDD, AOC 1080p monitor, K280 case
    Nexus 7 II (2013)
    Nexus 4

  9. #29
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,925

    Default Re: upgrade time

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Yeah mate throw a couple of games on the SSD, it's *brilliant*!!
    i just threw my old doom3 on the ssd. runs very nicely and better graphics than the old agp vid card (which was one of the fastest or very close to it). not bad for onboard graphics.
    Tweak it till it breaks

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrade Time
    By Cato in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 23-02-2011, 10:46 AM
  2. Upgrade Time
    By Cato in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-02-2011, 08:07 PM
  3. PC Upgrade Time
    By CaptainVincent in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 25-11-2007, 05:48 PM
  4. Time for an upgrade ??
    By cowboy stu in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15-10-2006, 08:58 AM
  5. Upgrade time
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-01-1999, 10:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •