Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40
  1. #1
    Superanuitant Poppa John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wonderful Wanganui
    Posts
    5,029

    Default Orcon to Telecom

    Hi All.

    Sometime today we will be changing ISPs from Orcon to Telecom.

    I want to type up a message that I can send to all our contacts in the address book....but not all at once. Rather than type it up every time, about 50 words, I would like to have it placed somewhere that is quick to access. Say Signature....Word Doc...something like that.

    Then either send an email singly or a few at a time via BCC.

    What do you think? Thanks. PJ
    Deafness.
    When I was younger I heard but didn't listen.
    Now I am older, I listen but cannot hear.

    If it is not broke, don't make it broker by trying to make it better. (This applies specifically to PJ)

  2. #2
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,184

    Default Re: Orcon to Telecom

    Sounds like a good idea to save time
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  3. #3
    Superanuitant Poppa John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wonderful Wanganui
    Posts
    5,029

    Default Re: Orcon to Telecom

    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    Sounds like a good idea to save time
    yes...but how? PJ
    Deafness.
    When I was younger I heard but didn't listen.
    Now I am older, I listen but cannot hear.

    If it is not broke, don't make it broker by trying to make it better. (This applies specifically to PJ)

  4. #4
    6146-B Billy T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    6,887

    Default Re: Orcon to Telecom

    Hi PJ

    I keep commonly used text files (usually known as 'boilerplate') in Metapad (free program) and just copy and paste as required. I use Metapad because it has a range of simple text management tools that are very useful, and I don't have to clutter up my Word files. All of my Monday Laughs joke stocks pass through that system (to remove the >> and double spaces etc), as do my TradeMe ads.

    You can then copy and paste (or cut and paste) into your email program. Presonally I prefer 'copy' so that the original stays available in case gremlins strike.

    You can do the same thing in Notepad, but it doesn't have the text editing features of MetaPad.

    One thing Notepad is very good for is the automatic removal of all sorts of formatting rubbish, HTML and the like. When I make a direct credit payment via the internet, I copy the confirmation from my Bank's Website and drop it into Notepad, that gets rid of images and all sorts of other formatting. I remove a few redundant spaces to tidy it up then paste the bare text into my email notification of payment. It gets good comments from sellers as well.

    Make your message generic, then send it to yourself and BCC the masses.

    Cheers

    Billy 8-{)
    Last edited by Billy T; 26-07-2013 at 11:45 AM.
    Some days it's not even worth chewing through my restraints!

  5. #5
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    4,022

    Default Re: Orcon to Telecom

    Quote Originally Posted by Poppa John View Post
    Hi All.

    Sometime today we will be changing ISPs from Orcon to Telecom.

    I want to type up a message that I can send to all our contacts in the address book....but not all at once. Rather than type it up every time, about 50 words, I would like to have it placed somewhere that is quick to access. Say Signature....Word Doc...something like that.

    Then either send an email singly or a few at a time via BCC.

    What do you think? Thanks. PJ
    My question is why?? You can keep your Orcon email address for life. Just need to change the SMTP settings after you change over. I changed earlier this year and we still have all our Orcon email addresses..
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  6. #6
    Systems Engineer Alex B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: Orcon to Telecom

    You really should change to a Gmail account or any other ISP agnostic email system, rather than Xtra. Now's a pretty good time to do it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member coldot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    North Shore, Auckland
    Posts
    660

    Default Re: Orcon to Telecom

    PJ - if you use Outlook Express, Outlook, Thunderbird, or almost any email client - they can usually be configured to check several email addresses at whatever time interval you require. I have 10 email addresses - most not used very often - but my Thunderbird email app checks them all at 5, 10, 20 or 30 minute intervals. The time based on their relative 'popularity'. It's all quite seamless and I can click on "check all" whenever I wish. If you can retain your old address then that way you could ensure that your friends can write to you even if they don't know your new address.
    Either go where you're looking or look where you're going!

  8. #8
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Orcon to Telecom

    Quote Originally Posted by Poppa John View Post
    Hi All.

    Sometime today we will be changing ISPs from Orcon to Telecom.

    What do you think?
    I think it would be a huge mistake to use Xtra email - or Yahoo email as it really is.

    Get a gmail account, then do your email to everyone.
    wipe your paws.

  9. #9
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,184

    Default Re: Orcon to Telecom

    Quote Originally Posted by pctek View Post
    I think it would be a huge mistake to use Xtra email - or Yahoo email as it really is.
    It works... most of the time...
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  10. #10
    Systems Engineer Alex B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: Orcon to Telecom

    Hacking of Yahoo aside, it's still a pain when you change ISP and once again have to change email addresses.

Similar Threads

  1. Telecom vs Orcon
    By Greg in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 03-10-2012, 10:14 AM
  2. Orcon or Telecom Broadband?
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-05-2009, 09:58 PM
  3. Orcon vs Xnet: Life After Telecom
    By Healopotamus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 30-07-2008, 07:41 PM
  4. Telecom and Orcon
    By Elephant in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-12-2004, 06:29 AM
  5. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 13-08-2004, 11:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •