Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default DAP and Speedbit

    I have installed DAP v10 as my download manager.
    The problem with it is that in spite of unticking the appropriate boxes it always installs SPEEDbit as my default search engine and makes it the default home page. IE says it is the default browser, but it is greyed out. I can not find Speedbit on my computer. Seems it is hidden.
    Any ideas on how to get rid of it?
    Jack
    Jack GOF.

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: DAP and Speedbit

    http://www.ehow.com/how_6753057_dele...it-search.html

    Then run Hijackthis to make sure.....
    wipe your paws.

  3. #3
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: DAP and Speedbit

    Thanks . Problem fixed.
    Jack
    Jack GOF.

  4. #4
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,889

    Default Re: DAP and Speedbit

    Why do you need a download manager in the first place?
    Modern browser have that functionality mostly built in anyway, and I don't buy into the speed claims the managers make.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  5. #5
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: DAP and Speedbit

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    Why do you need a download manager in the first place?
    Modern browser have that functionality mostly built in anyway, and I don't buy into the speed claims the managers make.
    Can't agree with you. If your connection is lost you can pick it up again. And as for speed I find I can download almost twice as fast with DAP than with nothing.
    My only complaint is that they all try to fit you with their toolbar or something.
    Jack GOF.

  6. #6
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,889

    Default Re: DAP and Speedbit

    Quote Originally Posted by JJJJJ View Post
    Can't agree with you. If your connection is lost you can pick it up again. And as for speed I find I can download almost twice as fast with DAP than with nothing.
    My only complaint is that they all try to fit you with their toolbar or something.
    Well your choice, but IE9, 10, and FF all support resuming interrupted downloads, chrome probably does as well but I can't confirm that one. As for speed, I don't have issues with it or download enough to worry about it. Maybe if you regularly download large files from websites you may have a point, I don't do that. I find most downloads I do achieve a few hundred MB/s D/L speeds and complete fairly quickly. In order for the DL managers to get more speed the files in question need to be available from more than one source, not always the case.

    Anyway if you like it, great. Personally I can't be bothered with them.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

Similar Threads

  1. Speedbit nuisance how to uninstall
    By Neil F in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 18-04-2013, 10:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •