Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Just curious

  1. #1
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Just curious

    I have an eight core cpu o/c to 4.3 in a Sabre Tooth motherboard and twelve gigs of ram.and a 690 gpu. Running Win 7.
    My g510 keyboard tells me that I use a max of 60% resources and 50% of ram.
    I reckon I should be able to use 100%,and load programs twice as fast.
    Why can't I?
    Jack
    Jack GOF.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Just curious

    Coz if you use 100% ram you'll probably run out of memory. And everything will come to a screaming halt

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,382

    Default Re: Just curious

    And re-writing the memory/resources management routines would be a trifle difficult. Personally, I'm happy to let the windows programmers handle it!

  4. #4
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,889

    Default Re: Just curious

    Also loading programs is not especially resource intensive, mainly it relies on the speed of your hard drive. It's like asking why having a large boot on your car doesn't let it go faster, not a perfect analogy but you get the point. Even if you had the fastest hard drive system imaginable and loaded everything virtually instantly you will still not normally see either of those sit at 100%.

    Simply put 12Gb or RAM is more than most applications can use and only certain intensive tasks like video encoding are likely to max out the CPU usage. This is a good thing, would you rather have a 800cc car straining to maintain the speed limit on a hill or cruise up in a 2L with resources to spare?

    Car analogies done for this week
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Just curious

    Yeah my money is on the HDD / SSD being the bottleneck
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Similar Threads

  1. Just curious........Why is it that.........
    By Billy T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 08:31 AM
  2. Just curious
    By qazwsxokmijn in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 25-09-2008, 01:21 PM
  3. Just Curious
    By JJJJJ in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-08-2006, 09:50 AM
  4. Curious
    By JJJJJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-04-2006, 09:03 AM
  5. just curious .. Who is using UPS with their PC?
    By mashimaro in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15-10-2002, 12:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •