Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Gaming Laptops

Default Gaming Laptops

Hi, I have little knowledge about laptops so I thought I could ask here Im looking for a gaming laptop that can run
    games like battlefield 3 and 4, league of legends, counter strike go. I have around 1.25k to spend. Where should I start looking and what should I be looking for in a gaming laptop.

Any ideas?

Cheers

Default Re: Gaming Laptops

Might need double that for one thats fast enough

Yup. That IS a typo. 8ftmetalhaed's Avatar

pretty much. what Speedy said.
    http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/note...ttypeid=32&t=0

My laptop was 1.2k ish and can run games like left for dead 2, tf2, etc, but it struggles at times and generally pushes 90-100 degrees while doing so. I imagine playing battlefield 4 on a 1.2k laptop would end up netting you about the same, even with minimal graphics.

Why do you have to have a laptop? If it's for fiddling with while you're at uni or whatever, you should be able to find one that will do minimum settings on most games. If it's something you intend to regularly game on and want decent settings, I don't think 1.2k is enough.

You could get an ok desktop for about 1.2k though.

oh and edit, as for general what to look for sort of tips; decent amounts of ram (or spare ram slots to add more later), the best GPU and CPU you can afford, from a decent manufacturer.
    Ones like Acer, HP's consumer brands, etc should be avoided where possible.
    http://www.statisticbrain.com/laptop-malfunction-rates/
    Last edited by 8ftmetalhaed; 07-05-2013 at 07:49 PM.
    pc: i5 750 8GB ddr3 xfx 5770 Gbyte UD4P55 1TB WD Green, OCZ Vertex 4 64g SSD CoolMast Glad 600 case w/500 W PSU
    Laptop: Gateway i5 430M 4GB DDR3 ATI 5470 512mb 750gb HDD 15" 768p LED panel

Oxymoron, (examples ex wikipedia)
    Bitter sweet
    Deafening silence
    Dry drunk
    Forward retreat
    Irregular pattern
    Quiet riot
    Serious joke
    Sweet sorrow