Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,913

    Default CPU Temp monitor

    Can the asus probe II be made to show the CPU temp on the desktop while a game is running.
    Or is there a better app for doing this.

    System is:

    Asus P5Q-pro
    Win7

  2. #2
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: CPU Temp monitor

    Core Temp will do the job
    Jack GOF.

  3. #3
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,889

    Default Re: CPU Temp monitor

    You really either need dual monitors so you can put it on one while you game on the other or a program that logs the temperatures so you can leave it running and check it later because if you alt tab out of the game it tends to stop loading up the graphics card and temperatures drop immediately.

    Any of them including asus probe can be parked on a second monitor. I haven't used Core temp so I don't know what it's features are but if it doesn't log temps then realtemp is another - it shows max and min temps since it was started as well as current. There's also speedfan which I think from memory might have an option to graph temps over time while it's running although it's a bit more complicated to use (sometimes you have to figure out what sensors apply and choose them)
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  4. #4
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: CPU Temp monitor

    Yeah I run dual monitors and just keep Speccy open on the second monitor
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  5. #5
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,913

    Default Re: CPU Temp monitor

    Thank you for advice.

    The Core Temp did the trick & told me what I needed to know.

  6. #6
    The Sane of Insanity stratex5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    On Earth... I Think???
    Posts
    1,050

    Default Re: CPU Temp monitor

    Should see if you can find some sort of overlay to display pc stats.

Similar Threads

  1. Free temp monitor app
    By Myth in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-10-2012, 07:24 PM
  2. CPU Temp monitor
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16-12-2011, 04:48 PM
  3. Motherboard Monitor 5 - inaccurate temp?
    By andrew93 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-11-2005, 09:18 AM
  4. LCD Temp. Monitor
    By Jams in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-02-2003, 08:15 AM
  5. c:\temp & c;\windows\temp
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2001, 09:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •