Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    An old sod
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arrowtown
    Posts
    731

    Cool Convert AA battery device to mains?!

    If you had a battery (2 AAs) electronic device and wanted to run it off 230v - are there any "off the shelf" units to do this?!
    Thanks
    "Why work on Wednesday and stuff up two good long weekends"
    W10 Home 64-bit,Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz,RAM 16GB, ROG STRIX B360-I GAMING (LGA1151),PHL 257E7 (1920x1080@60Hz),4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (EVGA), 1TB SSD, 4TB HDD, 4TB USB SSD.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    531

    Default Re: Convert AA battery device to mains?!

    A common transformer, mains to 6volt.
    You may have an issue trying to connect the 6v outlet
    to your unit?

  3. #3
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Levin
    Posts
    2,618

    Default Re: Convert AA battery device to mains?!

    Quote Originally Posted by gradebdan View Post
    A common transformer, mains to 3volts DC (1x AA cell=1.5VDC)
    You may have an issue trying to connect the 3v outlet
    to your unit?
    Fixed that for you

    As a temporary measure make a pair of dummy cells from appropriately sized wooden dowel, use thumbtacks for the contacts, trap the wiring under the thumbtacks.
    Would be best to use a regulated power pack (wall wart) for accurate voltage versus load.
    Dick Smith?
    Jaycar?
    Last edited by feersumendjinn; 23-02-2013 at 02:58 PM.
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------
    "After your hands become coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch."

  4. #4
    An old sod
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arrowtown
    Posts
    731

    Default Re: Convert AA battery device to mains?!

    Quote Originally Posted by feersumendjinn View Post
    Fixed that for you

    As a temporary measure make a pair of dummy cells from appropriately sized wooden dowel, use thumbtacks for the contacts, trap the wiring under the thumbtacks.
    Would be best to use a regulated power pack (wall wart) for accurate voltage versus load.
    Dick Smith?
    Jaycar?
    Thanks - great idea with the wooden dowel. Headed to the workshop to gut a battery but common sense kicked in! So we are looking at 3 volts then? OK help me to on the wiring - just split the DC so 2 + leads and 2 - leads?
    "Why work on Wednesday and stuff up two good long weekends"
    W10 Home 64-bit,Intel Core i7 @ 3.20GHz,RAM 16GB, ROG STRIX B360-I GAMING (LGA1151),PHL 257E7 (1920x1080@60Hz),4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti (EVGA), 1TB SSD, 4TB HDD, 4TB USB SSD.

  5. #5
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Levin
    Posts
    2,618

    Default Re: Convert AA battery device to mains?!

    You'll probably find one end of the battery compartment (if the batteries are side by side and pos and neg terminals are at one end) is internally connected (top to bottom if you see what I mean ), check with a multimeter.
    Then attach your wiring to one end of the dowels only, and make sure your polarity is correct when fitting to device (positive is usually the plain/flattish contact and negative will be the raised or spring contact) at the opposite end from the internally connected end .
    If the batteries are fitted like this +XXXXX-+XXXXX-, just fit the dowels with pos and neg at each (farthest) end (+DOWEL-+DOWEL-)

    It could be that the batteries may be connected in parallel (pos/pos, neg/neg) thus supplying 1.5v and twice the current draw, in the device, but this is VERY unlikely.
    Last edited by feersumendjinn; 23-02-2013 at 04:02 PM.
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------
    "After your hands become coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch."

  6. #6
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Levin
    Posts
    2,618

    Default Re: Convert AA battery device to mains?!

    just split the DC so 2 + leads and 2 - leads?
    No, dont do that, you would effectively end up with two 3 volt (dummy) cells.
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------
    "After your hands become coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch."

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    531

    Default Re: Convert AA battery device to mains?!

    Must have had a brain storm. Of course 2xAA cells in series
    add up to 3 volts (nominal). Fully charged under no load
    they can read up to 1.65v each.

Similar Threads

  1. European mains lead
    By andy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 17-12-2011, 04:41 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-04-2009, 08:59 PM
  3. PC turns on when mains switched on
    By johnd in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-06-2006, 08:37 PM
  4. Power Mains Networking
    By rrtipene in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21-01-2005, 10:35 PM
  5. wireless networking using mains power
    By MalcolmG1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-08-2004, 05:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •