Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: UPnP vulnerable

  1. #11
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Turned it on, in my Gargoyle router. Came up fine. Turned it back off again though.

    Same for my Onkyo receiver, also not exploitable. Thanks for the link to the app Zara!
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  2. #12
    mikebartnz
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wairarapa
    Posts
    5,554

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Quote Originally Posted by prefect View Post
    Because I have so absolutely no idea what UPnP is I will shuffle it down my things to worry about list.
    Universal Pug and Play
    Computers are like Air Conditioners, they stop working when you open Windows.

  3. #13
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,035

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    I like it, would not want to turn it off. In the old days before uPnP I had all kinds of problems setting up port forwarding for various games and programs only to have to do it again when the next one came out. Since uPnP became common I've never had to do anything to get software working through the router and can use DHCP without the need for static IPs. It makes life for the average user so much easier.

  4. #14
    ember BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,137

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    My Cable modem is connected to the Router which has UPnP, ran the test you can do, it discovered the Router but was not exploitable according to the result.
    I ran the test too (Telstra cable) and got the same result - just picked up 192.168.0.1 or something like that. So the test checks vulnerability by looking at my network from the outside? It doesn't look at all the devices on my network (from the perspective of my computer) to check what sort of firmware they run? I was wondering why no other IP addresses were detected

    (and thank you Zara for the link to the lists. I note that WDTV Live HD media player is not on any of them)
    Ryzen 7 1700 @ stock, EVO 960 500GB M.2 NVMe, G-Skill 2 x 16GB @ 2.4GHz,
    GA-AB350N-Gaming Wifi (mITX), EVGA GTX970. Media player: i7-6700k

  5. #15
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    nothing exploitable for me
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  6. #16
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    Since uPnP became common I've never had to do anything to get software working through the router and can use DHCP without the need for static IPs. It makes life for the average user so much easier.
    What games?

    I think you'll find that a lot of new games simply "Host" them in a way which doesn't require port-forwarding these days...
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  7. #17

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    I thought I would check my router (NetComm NB6Plus4Wn) for the current setting. Logged in successfully, but on the uPnP setting I get "400 Bad Request. No request found."

    Does that mean that in the past I have turned this off so this is the safe(st) setting?

  8. #18
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Download the scanner linked in Zaras PCW post and test
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  9. #19

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Thanks Chill. I did that, and there are no vulnerabilities on this PC. I will have to check the laptop and my wife's computer, just in case...

  10. #20
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    It scans your whole network? I had to enter the start / finish IP addresses in my network range and it scanned the lot of them, no need to run it on multiple PCs
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Similar Threads

  1. UPnP
    By rumpty in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 05:34 PM
  2. 'Boujour' Veses 'UPnP'
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-05-2009, 04:55 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15-11-2006, 12:50 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2005, 10:01 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-01-2002, 07:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •