Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: UPnP vulnerable

  1. #1
    Apple free in Appleby KarameaDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Near Drummond, Southland
    Posts
    5,005

    Exclamation UPnP vulnerable

    FTW

  2. #2
    The Zeditor (Admin)
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Auckland; PC World batcave
    Posts
    514

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Just as a note, we have an article up about that too - with some tips about how to tell if your router is affected, and what to do.

    http://pcworld.co.nz/pcworld/pcw.nsf...searchers-find

    general advice: log into your router's web interface and turn UPNP off

  3. #3
    IT Consultant johcar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hibiscus Coast, Auckland
    Posts
    8,073

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    So, you have to weigh up the likelihood of someone actually exploiting this flaw on your home network versus the practicality/convenience of being able to auto-configure devices on your home network....

    Would making sure the router firewall was on make a difference?

    It is impossible to defeat an ignorant man in argument. -William G. McAdoo, lawyer and politician (1863-1941)

  4. #4
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Not the first time that there's been issues around the mass implementation of UPnP is it?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  5. #5
    The Zeditor (Admin)
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Auckland; PC World batcave
    Posts
    514

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Quote Originally Posted by johcar View Post
    So, you have to weigh up the likelihood of someone actually exploiting this flaw on your home network versus the practicality/convenience of being able to auto-configure devices on your home network....

    Would making sure the router firewall was on make a difference?
    No - this essentially lets things bypass the firewall. Having a router attached to your modem, where the router has UPNP but the modem doesn't, should be okay, however, because the router is then not exposed directly to the internet.

  6. #6
    The Zeditor (Admin)
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Auckland; PC World batcave
    Posts
    514

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Not the first time that there's been issues around the mass implementation of UPnP is it?
    no, but remembering the days before there was UPNP ... <wince> It's such a useful thing for home users. :-/

  7. #7
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Not sure I've ever had a need for it to be turned on in my router?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  8. #8
    mikebartnz
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wairarapa
    Posts
    5,554

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Not the first time that there's been issues around the mass implementation of UPnP is it?
    It used to be one of the first services I killed in a Windows installation.
    Computers are like Air Conditioners, they stop working when you open Windows.

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,025

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Quote Originally Posted by Zara Baxter View Post
    No - this essentially lets things bypass the firewall. Having a router attached to your modem, where the router has UPNP but the modem doesn't, should be okay, however, because the router is then not exposed directly to the internet.
    My Cable modem is connected to the Router which has UPnP, ran the test you can do, it discovered the Router but was not exploitable according to the result.

  10. #10
    Soaring like a chicken prefect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    8,964

    Default Re: UPnP vulnerable

    Because I have so absolutely no idea what UPnP is I will shuffle it down my things to worry about list.
    Its amazing how Potatoes give us chips,fries and Vodka.

    Get your s*** together every other vegetable.

Similar Threads

  1. UPnP
    By rumpty in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 05:34 PM
  2. 'Boujour' Veses 'UPnP'
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-05-2009, 04:55 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15-11-2006, 12:50 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2005, 10:01 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-01-2002, 07:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •