Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mmmmmmmm.............Kate Tukapa's Avatar

Default Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows 7?

Hi all

I set up a physiotherapy office with Windows 7 laptops to run special software for the business.

All is going well.

However - one of the staff members is a Mac fan (and unfortunately talked the boss into buying a Mac because they are 'better' before I came onto the scene).

Now they are wanting to run the same special physiotherapy software (which happens to be Windows only) on the two Macs and has asked about installing Windows 7 with VMWare Fusion. Now I happily admit I'm a Mac novice having never had any need or desire to learn about them.

My question is - do they need to purchase a retail version of Windows 7 for each Mac they want to install Windows on? I would presume they would.

Any advice gratefully accepted (would have been easier if they used Windows laptops to run Windows applications).

Thanks.
    Asus P8Z77-V LK, Core i5 3570K, 8GB DDR3 1600, 128GB SSD, 12TB HDD, GeForce GTX660 Ti 2GB, Blu-ray writer, Enermax 750W PSU, Coolermaster CM 690 II Case, Windows 8 Professional

Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

Get Bootcamp, thats if the Mac they've got supports it

Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

They already have VMWare Fusion.

My understanding is that boot camp is generally recommended if you want to game and VMWare Fusion for general day to day applications and you don't need to reboot with VMWare Fusion to access Windows.
    Asus P8Z77-V LK, Core i5 3570K, 8GB DDR3 1600, 128GB SSD, 12TB HDD, GeForce GTX660 Ti 2GB, Blu-ray writer, Enermax 750W PSU, Coolermaster CM 690 II Case, Windows 8 Professional

Pretends to know things

"do they need to purchase a retail version of Windows 7 for each Mac they want to install Windows on? I would presume they would."

Yes.