Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Mmmmmmmm.............Kate Tukapa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    791

    Default Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows 7?

    Hi all

    I set up a physiotherapy office with Windows 7 laptops to run special software for the business.

    All is going well.

    However - one of the staff members is a Mac fan (and unfortunately talked the boss into buying a Mac because they are 'better' before I came onto the scene).

    Now they are wanting to run the same special physiotherapy software (which happens to be Windows only) on the two Macs and has asked about installing Windows 7 with VMWare Fusion. Now I happily admit I'm a Mac novice having never had any need or desire to learn about them.

    My question is - do they need to purchase a retail version of Windows 7 for each Mac they want to install Windows on? I would presume they would.

    Any advice gratefully accepted (would have been easier if they used Windows laptops to run Windows applications).

    Thanks.
    Asus P8Z77-V LK, Core i5 3570K, 8GB DDR3 1600, 128GB SSD, 12TB HDD, GeForce GTX660 Ti 2GB, Blu-ray writer, Enermax 750W PSU, Coolermaster CM 690 II Case, Windows 8 Professional

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

    Get Bootcamp, thats if the Mac they've got supports it

  3. #3
    Mmmmmmmm.............Kate Tukapa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    791

    Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

    They already have VMWare Fusion.

    My understanding is that boot camp is generally recommended if you want to game and VMWare Fusion for general day to day applications and you don't need to reboot with VMWare Fusion to access Windows.
    Asus P8Z77-V LK, Core i5 3570K, 8GB DDR3 1600, 128GB SSD, 12TB HDD, GeForce GTX660 Ti 2GB, Blu-ray writer, Enermax 750W PSU, Coolermaster CM 690 II Case, Windows 8 Professional

  4. #4
    Pretends to know things
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

    "do they need to purchase a retail version of Windows 7 for each Mac they want to install Windows on? I would presume they would."

    Yes.

    Run the BootCamp application, it steps you through the whole process. Some OEM 64 Bit W7 disks don't work and require a work around, I think the issue effects some retail copies too.

  5. #5
    Apple free in Appleby KarameaDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Near Drummond, Southland
    Posts
    5,010

    Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

    Yes they will need a valid license for each machine, makes for a costly setup I would think?
    But maybe your software could work in WINE?
    http://www.davidbaumgold.com/tutorials/wine-mac/
    Last edited by KarameaDave; 17-09-2012 at 09:59 PM.
    FTW

  6. #6
    Mmmmmmmm.............Kate Tukapa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    791

    Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by KarameaDave View Post
    Yes they will need a valid license for each machine, makes for a costly setup I would think?
    That is exactly what I was thinking.

    Ah well - their choice at the end of the day I guess - I'm quite happy to provide them the software.

    Quote Originally Posted by icow View Post
    "do they need to purchase a retail version of Windows 7 for each Mac they want to install Windows on? I would presume they would."

    Yes.

    Run the BootCamp application, it steps you through the whole process. Some OEM 64 Bit W7 disks don't work and require a work around, I think the issue effects some retail copies too.
    I was wondering if OEM discs would work - I have a few components to buy for other projects so could tag them on at that time, although I imagine technically they should buy retail versions at two and a half times the cost!
    Asus P8Z77-V LK, Core i5 3570K, 8GB DDR3 1600, 128GB SSD, 12TB HDD, GeForce GTX660 Ti 2GB, Blu-ray writer, Enermax 750W PSU, Coolermaster CM 690 II Case, Windows 8 Professional

  7. #7
    Apple free in Appleby KarameaDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Near Drummond, Southland
    Posts
    5,010

    Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

    Try it under WINE?
    (added this in case you don't see my addition to my last post, had to check if WINE will run on a MAC as I don't use one )

    http://www.davidbaumgold.com/tutorials/wine-mac/
    FTW

  8. #8
    Pretends to know things
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by Tukapa View Post
    That is exactly what I was thinking.

    I was wondering if OEM discs would work - I have a few components to buy for other projects so could tag them on at that time, although I imagine technically they should buy retail versions at two and a half times the cost!
    OEM versions *should* work it's just there is some odd glitch with the 64 bit version sometimes, can't remember exactly what happens but there was a work around for it. Worse comes to worst you can simply install XP or Vista and then do an upgrade install with 7.

  9. #9
    Mmmmmmmm.............Kate Tukapa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    791

    Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

    Quote Originally Posted by KarameaDave View Post
    Try it under WINE?
    (added this in case you don't see my addition to my last post, had to check if WINE will run on a MAC as I don't use one )

    http://www.davidbaumgold.com/tutorials/wine-mac/
    Geez - a quick look at that link and my head is spinning!

    I think the physiotherapy software would probably be classed as the 'obscure' software talked about.

    I will have a read in a bit more depth and see if WINE could be an option.

    Thanks for that!
    Asus P8Z77-V LK, Core i5 3570K, 8GB DDR3 1600, 128GB SSD, 12TB HDD, GeForce GTX660 Ti 2GB, Blu-ray writer, Enermax 750W PSU, Coolermaster CM 690 II Case, Windows 8 Professional

  10. #10
    Apple free in Appleby KarameaDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Near Drummond, Southland
    Posts
    5,010

    Default Re: Installing Windows 7 on Mac with VMWare Fusion - need to purchase retail Windows

    There may be simpler ways to do it, If Ubuntu or Mint will run under VMware, it is a trivial matter to install WINE in them.
    FTW

Similar Threads

  1. Installing NetObjects Fusion
    By mzee in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2011, 09:09 PM
  2. Windows 7 Purchase
    By Cicero in forum PressF1
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 08-08-2010, 04:47 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2010, 08:32 PM
  4. Windows 7 PCs in retail stores
    By jwil1 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23-10-2009, 01:27 PM
  5. Purchase Windows 95 CD
    By RonP in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-01-2007, 03:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •