Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3,301

    Default RAM beep code error

    Ok,
    Went to install the Ram that the Error Guy sent me. Slotted it in fine (I think), went to boot up, and got a beeep, beeep, beeep, error message. Removed the new ram, and it booted up fine. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: RAM beep code error

    Is it the same kind of ram?? Dont mix DDR with DDR2 or DDR3. It wont work, or fit in the slot

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3,301

    Default Re: RAM beep code error

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Is it the same kind of ram?? Dont mix DDR with DDR2 or DDR3. It wont work, or fit in the slot
    Yup, they are both DDR. I had 2x512mb DDR, and am trying to slot in another 256mb of DDR. The clock speed is different, would this do it?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: RAM beep code error

    How much ram did it have (when it worked)?? 1 GB? And how many slots does the mobo have? The new ram you installed maybe faulty. Will the system boot if you put the new ram in by itself? Is it single or double sided ram?? Some mobos can be fussy, with the kind of ram you install on it

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3,301

    Default Re: RAM beep code error

    It had 1gb when it worked. It has 4 slots, so two spare. And, without knowing a lot about RAM, I'd guess single sided ram. It looks the same as the original anyway.
    Also, when the new ram isn't there, the pc boots up fine.

  6. #6
    The Sane of Insanity stratex5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    On Earth... I Think???
    Posts
    1,050

    Default Re: RAM beep code error

    Tried the new ram by its self?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3,301

    Default Re: RAM beep code error

    Quote Originally Posted by stratex5 View Post
    Tried the new ram by its self?
    Not yet, will when I can get my hands on the pc again

  8. #8
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: RAM beep code error

    Make sure it's seated correctly, it will beep if it isn't. Place it in push down and both ends, and the clips should flick up and in the slots.
    wipe your paws.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,421

    Default Re: RAM beep code error

    And make sure the RAM doesn't slip sideways and split the socket!

Similar Threads

  1. Beep code
    By waynecarp in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-10-2009, 06:55 AM
  2. POST BOOT BEEP BEEP BEEP & MORE BEEPIN!
    By need2fixit in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28-12-2008, 08:47 PM
  3. What does this beep code mean?
    By Mike in forum PressF1
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 31-08-2008, 07:16 PM
  4. XP, SP2 & Strange Beep code.
    By B.M. in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-03-2005, 12:55 PM
  5. dead lambs and MMX BEEP BEEP BEEP Windows 95
    By bRaZZiN in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15-10-2002, 08:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •