Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Sky/Freeview Coax cabling

    Hi all,

    I'm going to be helping some friends who are doing some renovations on their house, mainly with cabling for home theater etc. As well at cat6 + speaker cabling, I'm planning on doing 2 runs of coax down the wall to where the TV is going - one for the sky dish and one for the UHF aerial which I'll install (for freeview HD).

    I did have a 100m roll of RG6, it was the 'sky grade' stuff, and it's worked a charm. I want to get another roll, but problem is I can't remember what exactly it was - is dual shield the stuff I should be after?

    http://www.trademe.co.nz/electronics...-480152335.htm

    Like that? Thanks.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Sky/Freeview Coax cabling

    Another thing too actually - I use twist on F-connectors, as i don't have a crimping tool, but they aren't really ideal. I often find that a lot of the braiding on the coax has ripped off while the connector is being twisted on. Any tips or tricks to overcome this?
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,994

    Default Re: Sky/Freeview Coax cabling

    I thought all RG6 had to conform to the same standard (diameter, loss in db/m, shielding) so that was all you needed to know. I wasn't aware there could be different grades of RG6. And the braid damage is largely unavoidable. It's only a problem if you take the connector off again really. As long as enough of the braid is in contact with the connector to make good electrical contact everything is fine.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  4. #4
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Sky/Freeview Coax cabling

    Thanks dug, I was under the impression quad shield was actually a bit bigger diameter, and was tricky to work with if standard size plugs etc were being used. Have grabbed the dual shield.
    Last edited by wratterus; 05-06-2012 at 04:50 PM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  5. #5
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,994

    Default Re: Sky/Freeview Coax cabling

    Well I may be wrong, but my understanding is that if it is larger in diameter or has extra layers of shielding then it's not RG6 but some other standard. The point of cable standards is to make them all compatible so you can't have different variations. Or at least you shouldn't. In my industry we used to use a lot of coax and as long as it was the right standard it didn't matter who made it. Our single screen and double screen cables had different names (which I forget but I'm not talking about TV coax so it's not important).
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  6. #6
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Sky/Freeview Coax cabling

    Sweet as.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Waiheke
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: Sky/Freeview Coax cabling

    You should invest in a crimper and use crimp F Connectors. They are not hugely expensive, and are easy to use.
    TradeMe or Jaycar sell them

  8. #8
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Sky/Freeview Coax cabling

    I am pretty tempted to....like so?

    http://www.trademe.co.nz/building-re...-481243342.htm
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  9. #9
    bs baffles brains b....'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    186

    Default Re: Sky/Freeview Coax cabling

    Jaycar has crimp tools at a much better price.

Similar Threads

  1. 100M of Coax, Fibre, TP how much?
    By andreas.hagen in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24-04-2010, 08:32 PM
  2. COAX and MulitMeters for Testing
    By pctek in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24-04-2007, 05:13 PM
  3. Info wanted on coax video to fiber.
    By stuffed in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-01-2007, 04:27 PM
  4. How much for cabling?
    By Edward in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-03-2005, 05:02 PM
  5. Cat or Coax?
    By Terry Porritt in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-12-2002, 03:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •