Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39
  1. #1
    In a 1920s time warp Terry Porritt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Upper Hutt
    Posts
    5,361

    Thumbs up Orcon Genius VOIP

    Bye bye Telecom....hello Genius.

    I ordered Genius last Friday afternoon. The modem and handset arrived next morning at 8am....fast

    Today the phone number was finally ported, I think Telecom may have dragged their heels a bit.

    I disconnected the phone jack wiring from the incoming phone lines at the junction box in the roof (had a 'splitter' up there and cat 5 to the modem jack point) and used the house phone wiring as an extension lead for a DECT cordless phone to plug into.

    The whole system seems to work well. Phone calls are clear as crystal and do not seem to interfere with streaming audio.

    Modem sync rate is a little bit higher than with a Linksys AG300, but probably not significantly so, getting 14000kbs as against 13900kbs.

    So far all is sunshine

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Orcon Genius VOIP

    Not bad huh? Just changed my parents over to it (I'm on the Genius plan but I have my own number with 2talk and I'm not using their router). It's great to see they've got the remote provisioning sussed so it works well, they've done a surprisingly good job with it overall!

    In fact AFAIK they do some QoS on the router for SIP calls so it won't choke when you upload a large picture to facebook / email.. which is choice!!
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #3
    Senior Member adslgeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Auckland. NZ.
    Posts
    142

    Default Re: Orcon Genius VOIP

    They had a fair bit of complaints when it first rolled out, but I never heard what the issues were about - sounds like they have been cleaned up so that is great to hear. Love those Orcon guys!
    I'm a DSL geek - DSL modem, ISPs etc.

  4. #4
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Orcon Genius VOIP

    Yeah I had a *terrible* migration to them, but I wonder how much of that is coz I wanted to use my own router. Also doesn't help that Chorus are just too damn quick and the router hadn't arrived by the time I was cut over. I mentioned it a bit in a blog post (Second heading about the switch to Orcon): http://www.c2s.co.nz/blog/more-route...ility-musings/

    All in all though, it went completely seamlessly for my parents, they couldn't be happier! They were on their "Best deal ever" plan previously and consistently blowing their 35-odd GB allowance (Still a couple of sibblings at home).
    Now, they get 200GB, for less, and the auto-provisioning stuff in the router worked brilliantly, they're thrilled with it. It's exactly what this country needs to help move people to Naked DSL. They've done well (for the better part)
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  5. #5
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,610

    Default Re: Orcon Genius VOIP

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Yeah I had a *terrible* migration to them, but I wonder how much of that is coz I wanted to use my own router. Also doesn't help that Chorus are just too damn quick and the router hadn't arrived by the time I was cut over. I mentioned it a bit in a blog post (Second heading about the switch to Orcon): http://www.c2s.co.nz/blog/more-route...ility-musings/

    All in all though, it went completely seamlessly for my parents, they couldn't be happier! They were on their "Best deal ever" plan previously and consistently blowing their 35-odd GB allowance (Still a couple of sibblings at home).
    Now, they get 200GB, for less, and the auto-provisioning stuff in the router worked brilliantly, they're thrilled with it. It's exactly what this country needs to help move people to Naked DSL. They've done well (for the better part)
    It's hard to get people to move from a physical phone on a copper wire though. I have seriously thought about it but we get a few power cuts each year and we don't have our computers on 24/7. So with my family being overseas I quite like having a phone still as I can't expect my folks to call from England to my cell

  6. #6
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    4,033

    Default Re: Orcon Genius VOIP

    I'm still on Orcon ADSL but refuse to use genius after a disastrous 9 months on a Orcon LLU fone line. I'll stick to analog until Telecom comes along with a IP solution.. There would be a riot in the house if I changed..

    I also have a second IP line on 2Talk which seems to work most of the time..
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  7. #7
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Orcon Genius VOIP

    You'd be surprised, we're both on a telecom wholesale line, not Orcon kit in the exchange, so it's a moot point really
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  8. #8
    In a 1920s time warp Terry Porritt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Upper Hutt
    Posts
    5,361

    Default Re: Orcon Genius VOIP

    Well, all is not sunshine, dial tone disappeared and we can't receive incoming calls. Outgoing is OK and also managed to get a call this afternoon after the caller tried twice. However when I asked if he could call back again to test the line the call failed. We lost a couple of calls this morning. When testing with cell phone the Genius rings once then cuts out. Resetting modem doesn't cure problem

    So now am awaiting an Orcon engineer to get in touch to sort the problem. I have a hunch there maybe an intermittent fault in the equipment.

  9. #9
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Orcon Genius VOIP

    Log in to the Genius WebUI, what does is say is the status of the SIP trunk?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  10. #10
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,431

    Default Re: Orcon Genius VOIP

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry Porritt View Post
    Well, all is not sunshine, dial tone disappeared and we can't receive incoming calls. Outgoing is OK and also managed to get a call this afternoon after the caller tried twice. However when I asked if he could call back again to test the line the call failed. We lost a couple of calls this morning. When testing with cell phone the Genius rings once then cuts out. Resetting modem doesn't cure problem

    So now am awaiting an Orcon engineer to get in touch to sort the problem. I have a hunch there maybe an intermittent fault in the equipment.
    A very familiar story! I had Genius, all was well for a few months then had the same problems as you have now. I eventually asked them to replace the modem, but no joy. I changed to "Hosting Direct" Naked broadband, and "2talk" for the phone. For two months there has been fast, smooth broadband, and clear reliable phone. Good luck - you will need it!

Similar Threads

  1. Decision - Telstra special or Orcon Genius?
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-03-2012, 08:18 PM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 08:02 PM
  3. Orcon Genius Failing?
    By nedkelly in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-09-2011, 06:08 PM
  4. Genius mouse
    By sarel in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 06:07 AM
  5. Fox News genius
    By Strommer in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-07-2009, 09:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •