Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member Renegade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    635

    Default How many AV's do you need?

    Just looking at a Compaq desktop, with a whopping 512mb of RAM. They complained it was running slow. Hmmmm 512, that's a given. However, I spot in addition to Avast version 4, MSE is also installed. Go into Add/Remove and AVG 8 and Nod 32 are also installed!! I think these 2 are broken though, as there's no systray icons or tasks running - there is one Eset service running though.

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: How many AV's do you need?

    Holy moly...if I was looking at that I would run removal tools for all of them, then install NOD32, or, if they didn't want to pay for an AV, for a machine of that age, install Avast.

    I shudder to think how slow that would be!
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    Senior Member Renegade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    635

    Default Re: How many AV's do you need?

    Yep, definitely hitting up the removal tools for these. I chucked a spare 1GB chip in - no way was I going to work on this with 512. It was still really slow booting up, will be interesting to see what it's like when the AVs are removed.

  4. #4
    Senior Member EmoCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    PressF1 Forums
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: How many AV's do you need?

    But that means your losing 8x the security!

    Seriously though.. how stupid can people get? The max amount of AV's installed on a PC I've had to fix is 5.. but 8? :|
    There is no keyboard connected to this computer. Press any key to continue.

  5. #5
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,415

    Default Re: How many AV's do you need?

    Keep NOD32 if it still has a valid subscription (ie not expired).
    Some AV's just dont work well on slow PC's, NOD & Avast seem OK speedwise

    to speed things up & get more reliablity....
    Make sure it JUST the av, not a security suite .
    If using a newer Avast, I'd disable all the 'extra's' & just enable AV, email (& spyware ??) scanning

  6. #6
    Senior Member sahilcc7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    903

    Default Re: How many AV's do you need?

    At least you don't have nortons installed on top of that.

  7. #7
    Senior Member EmoCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    PressF1 Forums
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: How many AV's do you need?

    *Double Facepalm* I didnt even read the first post right. I saw "AVG 8" and thought "8 AVG's?!". That amount of AV's is just pathetic though .

    @sahilcc7 - Norton's.... GOOD TIMES! Theres been times where I've instantly uninstalled Norton's from someones PC, switched it for NOD32.
    There is no keyboard connected to this computer. Press any key to continue.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Renegade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    635

    Default Re: How many AV's do you need?

    Hmmm, actually there was some Norton's residue there - Live Update was still installed! Boot time was a shade over 3 minutes, now down 1:30 with just MSE installed. Will check other startup items and recommend they put more memory in. This thing will probably max out at 2GB though, but that's much better than 512MB.

  9. #9
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,184

    Default Re: How many AV's do you need?

    Quote Originally Posted by EmoCat View Post
    But that means your losing 8x the security!

    Seriously though.. how stupid can people get? The max amount of AV's installed on a PC I've had to fix is 5.. but 8? :|
    why would you have to install 5 AV's to fix a pc???
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  10. #10
    The Sane of Insanity stratex5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    On Earth... I Think???
    Posts
    1,050

    Default Re: How many AV's do you need?

    I think he means 5 AV's he's had to uninstall :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •