Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    bluenose
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U/H
    Posts
    206

    Default Skype for Asus Transformer???

    I've been searching the net for the availabilty of Skype for Asus Transformer.
    Lots of others are asking the same question but no one seems to have a definite answer.
    Has anyone on PF1 any information?

    tnx Bluuenose.

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Skype for Asus Transformer???

    Yup just search the Play Store for Skype, its there :-)

    http://play.google.com

  3. #3
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,064

    Default Re: Skype for Asus Transformer???

    Yep what chill said, the app is for android not for a particular tablet so searching skype for android might have got better results. I have it loaded on my Acer tabet but I haven't actually used it.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  4. #4
    bluenose
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U/H
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Skype for Asus Transformer???

    Thanks for that info guys. I spent hours yesterday searching Google and found lots of others asking the same question.
    Very frustrating reading lots of posts leading nowhere. I don't like asking questions without doing some homework first.

    Bluenose.

  5. #5
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,182

    Default Re: Skype for Asus Transformer???

    i typed in skype into chill's link, the first result is the skype app itself
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  6. #6
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: Skype for Asus Transformer???

    Skype provide an official Android app, as per Chill's suggestion...
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member lakewoodlady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    On a need to know basis....
    Posts
    3,381

    Default Re: Skype for Asus Transformer???

    Yes, the official Skype is in the Android app market. I tried using it on my TF101 and I could get sound ok , but no video. I did read somewhere that it was not supported.
    That was when Honeycomb was on it, but now it has Ice Cream Sandwich on, maybe it would it work now?

    LL
    _____Nothing is hidden that cannot be revealed______

  8. #8
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Skype for Asus Transformer???

    Direct link for those interested: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...m.skype.raider
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  9. #9
    bluenose
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U/H
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Skype for Asus Transformer???

    Thanks for all of your replies folks. I had no problem finding the app on the site suggested by Chilling-Silence. I read quite a number of comments posted on the site and was surprised at the amount that were negative. The app installed with no problem whatsoever (It just did what it was supposed to do) and I am just waiting for my son to contact me so we can test it. It just goes to show that results can differ for all people.

    @Lakewoodlady. Have you tried it since the ICS upgrade? If yes, what was the result? BTW, I am trying to get the local S/Net to install Wi-Fi.

    Bluenose.

  10. #10
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Skype for Asus Transformer???

    I have, it worked fine
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Similar Threads

  1. Eee ASUS Transformer Charger problem
    By lakewoodlady in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-02-2012, 11:38 AM
  2. Asus Transformer video
    By Metla in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22-12-2011, 12:59 PM
  3. Asus transformer Prime
    By jwin in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-11-2011, 08:43 AM
  4. Anyone looking for an Asus Eee Transformer?
    By xyz823 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 15-10-2011, 02:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •