Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    Okay I'm not good with computers at all, so I don't know what you guys need to know or anything to help me, but all I know is that my computer won't show captcha's, and I can't fix it. Also, I keep getting these pop-ups that say 'Out of memory at line: 1' or some other number, and I don't know what to do! I just got this computer in January, it's an Acer Aspire 7750-G 9657. It's brand new, I don't understand why I'm having these problems. Can someone help? ):

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,756

    Default Re: My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    Welcome to PF1

    To start -- are other pictures showing on the sites that have the captcha's - basically all a captcha is , is a random set up pictures.

    What browser are you using,what security software do you have, and is it all captcha's from any site that has one ?
    Last edited by wainuitech; 10-03-2012 at 03:40 PM.

  3. #3
    Mature Linux nerd Rod J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    485

    Default Re: My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    If you can, try a different browser. I had trouble a while back with Chrome (I think) not showing a captcha for a particular page but when I looked at the site in Firefox the captcha appeared fine. Weird, no idea why.
    "Oh Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system!" - Sheldon Cooper, The Big Bang Theory.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Welcome to PF1

    To start -- are other pictures showing on the sites that have the captcha's - basically all a captcha is , is a random set up pictures.

    What browser are you using,what security software do you have, and is it all captcha's from any site that has one ?
    Well I'm trying to log into my account on www.myyearbook.com, and the captcha's don't work. The image doesn't show up at all, not even a red x or anything. It won't even let me log in without one. But I haven't been to any other site with captcha's because I really don't log on too many places on the internet. Do you know of any other website with captcha's that I should try? And I have McAfee right now because it came free on this computer, but it expires on the 17th and that's when I'll activate my Norton subscription on this computer. I used to use internet explorer but then I switched to mozilla firefox because one of my computer tech friends told me that might be the reason, but captchas don't work in either one! And pictures on myyearbook load for me just fine, it's just the captchas. I don't understand.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    Get rid of Mcafee its rubbish. Dont use Nortons either. If both are firewalls and both are installed now. You shouldnt have more than 1 installed. They'll conflict with each other

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    No I only have McAfee installed now lol. Which antivirus should I use then? S:

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    Use Microsoft's one if you want a free one. Make sure, you get the right one for the version of windows youre using

    Do you know what version of windows is installed?

  8. #8
    Senior Member Paul.Cov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,769

    Default Re: My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    I think you're lucky. Capchas are such a horrible pain in the ###. I'd be very glad to never again have to try to complete one.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Slankydudl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    885

    Default Re: My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    Well perhaps this captcha uses java, flash or shockwave. try downloading all of these from adobe's website. It may fix the problem but i sorta doubt it.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: My computer won't show captcha's! Please help?

    Paul, they're a bigger pain in the a** when I can't see them and they keep me from logging into my myyearbook. lol And Slanky I tried that and it didn't work. ): And Speedy Gonzales, I have Windows 7

Similar Threads

  1. Must be Spending Time: Google Buys CAPTCHA Technology
    By kahawai chaser in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-09-2009, 01:38 PM
  2. External HDD will not show on my computer.
    By ctell88 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-12-2008, 04:11 PM
  3. Computer Chat Show
    By jcr1 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25-03-2005, 12:54 PM
  4. Partition won't show in My Computer
    By wintertide in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-07-2004, 07:55 PM
  5. The Computer Show
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2000, 08:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •