Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member lostsoul62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    500

    Default Labtop can't see the Internet

    I bought a D-Link 655 router and got 3 computers up on Ethernet and one laptop on wireless so the router works. I can't get my roommates laptop on the Internet. The last router was a D-Link 524 and work for her on wireless. The new router work on Ethernet but not wireless and now it won't even work on Ethernet anymore. 3 hours with D-Link support didn't help. I told her I would take her to lunch every day her laptop is down so I just got to get this fix. However her laptop can see the network. I think it might be her adapters. Help?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Labtop can't see the Internet

    You've posted the same prob here. You only have to post it once. Otherwise we're going to get confused. I would read the manual for the modem/router. It sounds like you havent configured it
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 10-02-2012 at 05:33 PM.

  3. #3
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,175

    Default Re: Labtop can't see the Internet

    I'm guessing he didn't like the answers we gave in the other thread and decided to re-post it.

    If the new router is unresponsive to ethernet or wifi, you probably need to reset the configuration. There is a reset button on the back next to the power jack, typically.

    The manual: http://files.dlink.com.au/Products/D...nual_v1.50.pdf will tell you how to use the reset button, and also how to configure the other settings.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  4. #4
    Mixed Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    2,772

    Default Re: Labtop can't see the Internet

    Maybe....the wireless switch isn't turned on??

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Labtop can't see the Internet

    I personally think it's cheaper to take the laptop back, get a refund, and get something else. The NB6Plus4Wn is always a solid choice

    Sounds like you've taken a liking to your roommate too

    Edit: Google search for "dir-655 wireless" and you'll see that it suggests "dir-655 wireless drops". Looks like it's a relatively common issue to me. Take it back to the store, it's faulty and not fit for the purpose for which it was intended and you want a full refund. CGA says
    Last edited by Chilling_Silence; 10-02-2012 at 09:38 PM.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-04-2009, 07:35 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20-12-2008, 06:22 AM
  3. labtop help
    By freshfroot in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16-09-2007, 04:17 AM
  4. WHOLE NEW Labtop for sale
    By goforlabtop in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-07-2005, 03:06 AM
  5. WHOLE NEW Labtop for sale
    By goforlabtop in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2005, 03:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •