Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: eSATA hot-swap?

  1. #1
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,301

    Default eSATA hot-swap?

    I've a external HDD with a eSATA connection and my new MB has got a eSATA port at the rear panel. Can I plug in (with eSATA cable) this external HDD while my PC is ON? Couldn't find any absolute clear answer with google.

    Could some experts here share his/her views on the above?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: eSATA hot-swap?

    I think you need drivers as well to support hot swap. They should be on the mobo site, if the mobo has e-sata onboard. Ive got e-sata on the front of this case (the mobo doesnt have esata at the back. I'm using one of the sata ports). But, I cant use it, I dont have an external cable (the front esata is connected to a port. and connected to power / with a molex adapter).

  3. #3
    Gone Erayd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    5,761

    Default Re: eSATA hot-swap?

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    I've a external HDD with a eSATA connection and my new MB has got a eSATA port at the rear panel. Can I plug in (with eSATA cable) this external HDD while my PC is ON?
    Yes - all SATA ports support hotplugging.

    As Speedy says though, if you want this to be properly supported by the OS, you'll need to ensure that the correct SATA drivers are installed (note that this doesn't mean you need special drivers for eSATA - you don't - it just means that your OS needs to be using a SATA driver to access the disk controller, rather than something like an IDE emulation layer). The port also needs to be in AHCI (native) SATA mode; it can't be set to use IDE emulation etc.
    Last edited by Erayd; 18-12-2011 at 01:11 PM.
    If you are interested in reading fanfiction on a mobile device or ebook reader, please visit flagfic.com.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    3,056

    Default Re: eSATA hot-swap?

    That is something I was wondering too.
    I have a system here with front esata
    Have used it to connect an external drive but had to reboot to get the system to connect to it.

  5. #5
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,135

    Default Re: eSATA hot-swap?

    IF the eSATA ports are on a seperate controller to your system drive you can safely go into the BIOS and enable AHCI for just those and windows should redect the controller and install new drivers and that's it, hot swap should work. This is the case on some boards, mine has 6 internal SATA ports using the motherboard chipset controller and a seperate Jmicron controller with 2 eSATA ports.

    If however the motherboard only has one AHCI setting for all ports and you are in IDE mode changing it will prevent your PC from booting, in this case google "enabling AHCI on an existing windows installation" or something like that, there are several guides out there. It requires a registry tweak to convince yyour system to install the AHCI drivers before changing the BIOS.

    Plugging a hard drive into the eSATA controller while windows is running won't hurt anything and if it works sweet. If it doesn't and you have to reboot with the drive connected for windows to recognise it then you are in IDE mode.

    IMO this is a major failing of eSATA and prevented it becoming more common. It needed to just work without pissing about with the BIOS in order for it to be adopted by mainstream users. Now we have USB3.0 I wouldn't bother with eSATA any more.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  6. #6
    ember BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,137

    Default Re: eSATA hot-swap?

    Supplementary question: I have RAID enabled (from scratch, to allow Intel Rapid Storage) - does that allow hot swapping of SATA-connected drives (not eSATA)?

    (Annoyingly, my new Z68 doesn't have eSATA ports. I have 2 eSATA docks connected to SATA brackets.)
    Ryzen 7 1700 @ stock, EVO 960 500GB M.2 NVMe, G-Skill 2 x 16GB @ 2.4GHz,
    GA-AB350N-Gaming Wifi (mITX), EVGA GTX970. Media player: i7-6700k

  7. #7
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,135

    Default Re: eSATA hot-swap?

    I believe the RAID setting should work, I understand it does everything AHCI does as well as enablig RAID arrays.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  8. #8
    Re Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Beside the aviary,HB
    Posts
    837

    Default Re: eSATA hot-swap?

    I've been using this program for a while for my plugin SATA drives. Not sure if it works with eSATA. Although he states it works for SATA/eSATA.
    After plugging in the carriage drive I go to "scan for hardware changes " and it finds the drive. Likewise I can shut it down to remove it.

    http://mt-naka.com/hotswap/index_enu.htm

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: eSATA hot-swap?

    The Intel Rapid Storage Technology drivers, is what you need I think. But, I'm pretty sure you have to install the chipset drivers first (which should be installed, after you install the OS). Thats the onlly way, I got the IRST control panel to work properly. The attachment is what this program looks like, after you install it / reboot
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IRST.jpg 
Views:	236 
Size:	31.9 KB 
ID:	3449  

  10. #10
    ember BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,137

    Default Re: eSATA hot-swap?

    Well I've just tried it (hotswapping) and it sort of works. I say 'sort of' because one disc worked, the other didn't. Both disks worked when I had Disc Management going before plugging in the new drive and doing the rescan.

    Here's what I did. With Win7 running I put an old HDD in the dock and switched it on. Nothing showed up so I opened Disc Management. It hung on 'loading configuration data' and I couldn't rescan. I shut the computer down but it hung there too and I had to crash it. It also hung on re-start, at the RAID config screen. A crash out of that and a restart worked perfectly.

    After my restart I repeated the exercise with the same disc but with Disc Management already going. The rescan worked. I then turned the disc off and did a 'refresh' (I probably should have done a rescan) in Disc Management. It hung again.

    I then tried a different disc in a different dock and found I could turn it on and off without problems, but it did need 'rescan'. I had Disc Management running before turning the dock on. I used Resource Monitor to show me no instances of the disc before turning it off.

    I think I can live with that. So thanks for the encouragement Dugimodo

    Speedy - I have that screen regarding Intel's Rapid Storage Technology so I think it is going OK. With the crashes listed above I was expecting some serious RAID problems, since RAID is on the system drive, but not a squeak. It even loaded Windows in its normal 20 sec

    Neil McC - thanks, I've bookmarked that app - I might end up with that
    Ryzen 7 1700 @ stock, EVO 960 500GB M.2 NVMe, G-Skill 2 x 16GB @ 2.4GHz,
    GA-AB350N-Gaming Wifi (mITX), EVGA GTX970. Media player: i7-6700k

Similar Threads

  1. Faster eSATA?
    By Nomad in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 28-06-2010, 01:00 PM
  2. eSATA Cable?
    By Cato in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 02:34 PM
  3. HDD enclosure - eSATA
    By Nomad in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23-09-2009, 01:38 PM
  4. Where can I buy eSata Cables?
    By vims213 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-08-2009, 10:11 AM
  5. eSata?
    By pine-o-cleen in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-10-2008, 06:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •