Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Security Shield

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,354

    Default Security Shield

    Well we seem to been caught by this rogue trojan.

    Help to get rid of it would be appreciated.

    It blocks all attempts to get rid of it.

    Lurking.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Security Shield


  3. #3
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,072

    Default Re: Security Shield

    Had this yesterday on a friend's laptop. I just booted into Safe Mode and scanned with MSE, that seemed to get rid of it.

    It also says it blocks executables from running, but I was able to open Task Manager...
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,354

    Default Re: Security Shield

    Thanks Speedy, will get onto my pc and try.

    Hope it doesn't passed through this machine !. wifey will not be pleased.

    Lurks.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,354

    Default Re: Security Shield

    MalwareBytes seems to have fixed it.

    See list of new programs under RegCleaner.

    What are these in the main ?.

    Lurking.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RegCleaner.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	83.9 KB 
ID:	3432  

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,354

    Default Re: Security Shield

    Quote Originally Posted by pcuser42 View Post
    Had this yesterday on a friend's laptop. I just booted into Safe Mode and scanned with MSE, that seemed to get rid of it.

    It also says it blocks executables from running, but I was able to open Task Manager...
    pcuser42, only have ms firewall, under security Xp SP3.

    Lurking.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Security Shield

    Get rid of Ask toolbar, weatherbug, advanced systemcare, searchqmediabar. Do a full scan not a quick scan with mbam

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    2,354

    Default Re: Security Shield

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Get rid of Ask toolbar, weatherbug, advanced systemcare, searchqmediabar. Do a full scan not a quick scan with mbam
    Malware was a full scan

    MS virus software now running, 2 hrs so far, it was set to run at 3am on a Sunday, when the pc is off, lol.

    Reset it to 3pm daily.

    Lurks.

Similar Threads

  1. Acer Pro Shield
    By Jeff in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16-06-2011, 04:33 PM
  2. I/O shield won't fit case HELP!
    By darthcarnate in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 01:08 PM
  3. IO Shield
    By Pete O'Neil in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-09-2006, 03:16 PM
  4. [OT] BOP defend the shield
    By Mike in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-08-2004, 05:02 PM
  5. INSTALL SHIELD
    By olldaddy76 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-02-2003, 07:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •