Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Laptop CPU swap

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Pretends to know things
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Laptop CPU swap

    I have a macbook with a t5600. The laptop has a dead logic board however the cpu is fine. I recently brought a sony viao with a celeron 430m. I undestand that the 430m uses the 478 socket and the t5600 uses the 478 or 479 socket. I was wondering if I would be able to swap the cpu from my macbook into the viao as the t5600 is significantly faster or has apple (or sony) been sneaky and stopped you from removing the cpu or anything similar i should be concerned about.

  2. #2
    Systems Engineer Alex B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: Laptop CPU swap

    Looks like the CPU is soldered to the board in the Macbook, so you're out of luck there.

  3. #3
    Pretends to know things
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Laptop CPU swap

    Thanks anyway.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    302

    Default Re: Laptop CPU swap

    Silly question I guess, but desoldering it and then detaching it is out of the question? :?

  5. #5
    Systems Engineer Alex B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Re: Laptop CPU swap

    Quote Originally Posted by Sick Puppy View Post
    Silly question I guess, but desoldering it and then detaching it is out of the question? :?
    Pretty sure the solderd on processors are SMD and have no pins.

  6. #6
    Yup. That IS a typo. 8ftmetalhaed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Te Atatu South, Auckland
    Posts
    1,281

    Default Re: Laptop CPU swap

    for the amount of work and potential cockups that can occur, yes.
    pc: i5 750 8GB ddr3 xfx 5770 Gbyte UD4P55 1TB WD Green, OCZ Vertex 4 64g SSD CoolMast Glad 600 case w/500 W PSU
    Laptop: Gateway i5 430M 4GB DDR3 ATI 5470 512mb 750gb HDD 15" 768p LED panel

  7. #7
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7,473

    Default Re: Laptop CPU swap

    need Balling machine? I have a sata hd connector issue too haven't yet done it ....... Better to buy new one lol

Similar Threads

  1. Laptop ram swap
    By Nomad in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 12:24 AM
  2. Swap a box
    By Thomas in forum PressF1
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 22-11-2004, 10:01 AM
  3. Off Topic - swap my PC kit for a laptop
    By Greg S in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17-03-2004, 02:22 PM
  4. HDD swap
    By InverseEight in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-12-2003, 06:42 PM
  5. Swap CD Rom
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-01-2002, 11:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •