Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Jungle Bhoy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    364

    Default IP Addresses - Home Network

    I recently replaced my Linksysy WRT54G2 router with an ASUS RT-N12. Since I have done this however, every time I restart the router, all the attached devices get assigned new IP addresses. This is mostly a pain with the printer (which is wireless). This never happened with the Linksys router. Is there something I have configured wrongly in the router setup? Any help appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member fred_fish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,992

    Default Re: IP Addresses - Home Network

    You should be able to set static DHCP leases in the router config so the required devices get the same IP each time.
    Lay me down the long white line
    Leave the sirens far behind me
    Paint my name in black and gold
    My heart my flame my heart my road

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,108

    Default Re: IP Addresses - Home Network

    You can also set the devices to static IP, that way they tell the router what IP address they have, not the router issuing to the devices.

  4. #4
    Jungle Bhoy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    364

    Default Re: IP Addresses - Home Network

    Quote Originally Posted by fred_fish View Post
    You should be able to set static DHCP leases in the router config so the required devices get the same IP each time.
    Is that the same as static IP addresses? If not, how would I set static DHCP leases?

  5. #5
    Senior Member fred_fish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,992

    Default Re: IP Addresses - Home Network

    Yes it is.
    Setting them on the router avoids the need to also set subnet masks and DNS server entries on each client, and gives a single place to manage them.
    Lay me down the long white line
    Leave the sirens far behind me
    Paint my name in black and gold
    My heart my flame my heart my road

  6. #6
    Jungle Bhoy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    364

    Default Re: IP Addresses - Home Network

    Quote Originally Posted by fred_fish View Post
    Yes it is.
    Setting them on the router avoids the need to also set subnet masks and DNS server entries on each client, and gives a single place to manage them.
    Thanks - I'll try it out.

Similar Threads

  1. Home network
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-04-2008, 09:45 AM
  2. XP Home network
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30-04-2005, 08:53 PM
  3. XP Home to XP Home Network Problem
    By Lee76 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2004, 03:55 PM
  4. Home Network
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-05-2002, 09:02 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15-05-2002, 09:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •