Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    525

    Default Loss of start menu in Vista

    I lost the ability to start any programs from the start menu, even to shut down the computer. I could see all the programs under the start menu and the underlying 'programs' menu but when I selected any, nothing happened.

    The only change which I made which may have affected was to reorganise the menus to tidy them up. I did this via the properties of the taskbar and the 'start menu classic', 'customise' and 'advanced' button to access the menu items.

    I could start the programs from explorer by clicking the exe file and the pathfiles were all correct when I checked the shortcuts accessed in the above paragraph.

    Any ideas on what caused this and how to prevent/correct it in the future?

    I eventually ran system restore to a date prior to the menu tidying and it worked but I would like to know what went wrong.

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,568

    Default Re: Loss of start menu in Vista

    Even though you say the paths were correct, all the programs in the start menu are, is shortcuts to the original program.

    Somehow along the line, the paths got screwed up.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    525

    Default Re: Loss of start menu in Vista

    Why would that affect even the shutdown choice in the start menu? I certainly didn't alter this and many other items in the menus.

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,568

    Default Re: Loss of start menu in Vista

    Sometimes changing settings can have a different outcome to what is expected. Sometimes things simply don't go right.

    Something probably didn't change correctly. After all it is Vista, and that can be very "iffy" at the best of times.

    Got two vista laptops here right now that I'm working on, both are being a right PITA, and not wanting to play nice.

Similar Threads

  1. Start Menu problem in Vista Ultimate
    By mzee in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-09-2009, 08:36 PM
  2. Vista Start menu program search fails
    By adaros in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-05-2008, 10:09 AM
  3. *PLEASE HELP* - Vista Start Menu Virus
    By tylerinho in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-11-2007, 10:03 PM
  4. Start Menu Shortcuts Missing (Vista)
    By hueybot3000 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16-07-2007, 08:41 PM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 30-05-2007, 09:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •