Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    I'm not terribly computer savvy, so please bear with me. My problem is with Sony Vegas 7.0, which I'm running on XP with Realtek HD audio. When I work on a project in Vegas, audio is fine. However, when I render the video, the first few seconds of audio are always cut out. If I render in 3mbps with default settings, only the first second or two of audio won't play. When I render in 4.8mbps HD, the first five or so seconds of audio won't play. I thought maybe it was an audio bit rate issue somehow, but if I render at 4.8mbps with audio at 96 kbps, 44,100 Hz (default audio for 3mbps) that doesn't make a difference. Rendering at 3mbps with audio at 192 kbps, 48,000 Hz (default audio for 4.8mbps), it only cuts out the first two seconds as usual with 3mbps. So rending at 192 kbps audio isn't the problem. I assume the issue is with rendering at 4.8mbps, but I know nothing beyond that. I would like to continue rendering all my files at 4.8mbps, so how do I fix my problem? Is there even a way to fix it? Am I making any sense? Please...someone help me if you can. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    What video codec and container are you rendering with?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    What video codec and container are you rendering with?
    I'm not entirely sure I know what you mean, sorry. Are you referring to this?:
    Audio: 192 Kbps, 48,000 Hz, 16 Bit, Stereo, WMA9.
    Video: 23.976 fps, 1280x720, WMV V9 CBR Compression, Smoothness 90.

    That's the standard settings for rendering .wmv ver.9 @ 4.8mbps HD.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, GTX 560 TI 1GB DDR5 graphics card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram , Viewsonic VX2233WM LCD 1080P HD Monitor. Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    Perfect.

    Try not using Windows Media. Use something like h.263 / XviD / DivX instead and see what different results you get
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Perfect.

    Try not using Windows Media. Use something like h.263 / XviD / DivX instead and see what different results you get
    Everything else I try seems to work fine; it's strictly .wmv for some reason. That is the only file type where I have the option of 1280x720 resolution (what I use all the time now), which is why I've been trying so hard to fix it. Everything was dandy until one day I opened Vegas and just randomly had this issue. Now it won't go away, even after reformatting my hard drive (which was to fix blue screen errors). Is there any information I could give you that might tell you what my problem is?

  7. #7
    Frogman braindead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Edge of Insanity
    Posts
    618

    Default Re: Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    You don't give any specs about your system for video/audio. A LOT of recording/rendering problems can be solved by at least a 2-core CPU (preferably Intel) and a good, fast SATA second hard drive. Recording to the same drive as your OS (XP) is asking for trouble.

    Sounds like your system is choking on the amount of initial data flow. Do you use a separate sound card (internal or external) or are you using the integrated sound chip on your motherboard?
    FrogMan: half frog, half man; but which half?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    Quote Originally Posted by braindead View Post
    You don't give any specs about your system for video/audio. A LOT of recording/rendering problems can be solved by at least a 2-core CPU (preferably Intel) and a good, fast SATA second hard drive. Recording to the same drive as your OS (XP) is asking for trouble.

    Sounds like your system is choking on the amount of initial data flow. Do you use a separate sound card (internal or external) or are you using the integrated sound chip on your motherboard?
    Is this what you need?:
    RAM: 2.0 GB / 4.0 GB (max), DDR2 SDRAM, 667.0 MHz
    Memory Specification Compliance PC2-5300
    Form Factor DIMM 240-pin

    Graphics controller: PCI Express x16 - Plug-in card, ATI Radeon HD3650, 256.0 MB Video Memory

    Audio device: Realtek HD Audio, using the integrated sound card.

    I don't know if it means anything, but recording to an external hard drive made no difference.

  9. #9
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    Here's a good idea:
    Take the files, encoded at 3mbps and 4.8mbps and chuck them on another (faster than yours?) PC.

    See if they have issues like yours. If they do, then it's an encoding issue. If they don't, it's likely a decoding issue and as braindead says your PC could be struggling to keep up.

    That, or make a couple of 'sample' files, upload them to something like Megaupload, and link to them on here for one of the PF1 members to test out for you.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  10. #10
    Frogman braindead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Edge of Insanity
    Posts
    618

    Default Re: Sony Vegas 7.0 audio problem

    Hi Kissingtheautumnsky - there are a number of things that can lead to that initial drop-out, and among them is using your onboard mobo audio for intensive data processing or using a crap audio/video PCI card.

    My suggestion is to look around for a good quality used or new sound card (either PCI or external) such as the M-Audio Audiophile Firewire or USB card. Prices on these and other brands have come down a lot in the last 2 years and you might be able to pick one up fairly cheaply.

    Then you can disable your on-board audio and let the new one do some of the heavy lifting. I don't know if your mobo provides Firewire. If so, go for a Firewire card or use a GOOD quality PCI Firewire interface card and plug your external sound card into that. Otherwise get a USB2 or USB3 audio card if your mobo supports that.

    Please note: I'm not saying that this is the answer to your problem.

    If you're serious about audio/video editing without glitches, do yourself a favour and spend a few extra $$$ for a quality semi-pro card.

    OTOH, if you just want to mess around and use what you have, you'll need to optimise your system as much as you can. Google "optimize your PC for video" and work through the suggestions.

    Having been down the road of starting off with cheapo sound and video cards, I well know the time I wasted in screwing around trying to "get the elephant to fly".

    This is a good forum to ask questions. A lot of people there use Vegas. Wherever you ask, be sure to give them all the info on your system and what you want to accomplish.
    Last edited by braindead; 11-07-2011 at 04:45 PM.
    FrogMan: half frog, half man; but which half?

Similar Threads

  1. Sony vegas 9 rendering problems
    By subwoofer in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 13-06-2011, 08:41 PM
  2. R6 Vegas audio not working
    By sammo450 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2009, 10:08 PM
  3. vegas problem
    By LarsJohann in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 10:55 AM
  4. buy sony vegas"yipee" install "sad"
    By Ron Bakker in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30-09-2007, 09:07 PM
  5. Sony Vegas 7.0 Hangs
    By w000t in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-03-2007, 07:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •