Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Back up blues

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Unhappy Back up blues

    I recently did an entire backup on my business machine using a Seagate Free agent drive.....well C: drive died, I've put in a new HD, laoded OS, but the free agent says it can't find a backup, new drive is named same as old.... seagate seems to have no help for me..... Is there a bootable disk that will jump to the free agent??/?
    any ideas?
    Last edited by Niko_Ghost; 08-06-2011 at 05:43 AM.

  2. #2
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,381

    Default Re: Back up blues

    Is your Free agent drive attached via USB? Does it appear in Windows Explorer? Have you reinstalled the drivers after reinstalling the OS?

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,190

    Default Re: Back up blues

    Can you attach the drive to another PC, and look to see if the backup is actually on the Free Agent drive ?

    When you made the backup first, was it checked to make sure it had actually worked ?

    Where you wrote
    I've put in a new HD, laoded OS
    Did you have to manually install another OS ?

    If you did then all you had done is backed up your data, instead you should have created an image of the drive. That will have loaded back the OS, all your programs and data.

    Edited: Seems its a common problem as well, it looks like its meant to be backing up, but recovering is another matter. Had a look at the segate forum, SECOND REPLY on this page may help
    Last edited by wainuitech; 08-06-2011 at 09:12 AM.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Back up blues

    Manually installed OS....Seagate software says there are no back-ups....but when I access the drive I see the files....and yes....plugged the free agent into 2 diff machines....backup IS there....just can't get it to pop

  5. #5
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,190

    Default Re: Back up blues

    Thats good, at least its half done its job.

    Seems the software for doing the backup is rubbish - as per that link in my last post, LOTS of people are having the exact same problem.

    The solution : "Simply drag and drop your data from there, back onto your computer."

    I'd be using a more reliable backup software than the Seagate, one that actually works. The drive is fine.

    Along with doing a full drive image, that way if anything happens you can put back the image, which will contain the OS, programs and all data at the time on the image.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  6. #6
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Back up blues

    What O/s are you using, Windows 7 has a build in imaging program, you can use that with the free agent drive...
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  7. #7
    Old fella smithie 38's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Carterton
    Posts
    591

    Default Re: Back up blues

    Sol.
    Does Vista have a built in imaging program, we can use with the free agent drive?

  8. #8
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Back up blues

    Quote Originally Posted by smithie 38 View Post
    Sol.
    Does Vista have a built in imaging program, we can use with the free agent drive?
    No, sorry mate!
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  9. #9

    Default Re: Back up blues

    Sol - YES IT DOES

    Vista has a similar backup solution to Windows 7, not quite as good, but still pretty good, does a backup to a VHD just like Windows 7 and not too difficult to restore either.

  10. #10
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,428

    Default Re: Back up blues

    I have used Seagate free agent for several years and never had any joy with the software. Wiped the lot ages ago. The drive has been very good using other software.

Similar Threads

  1. Router Blues !
    By ruup in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-04-2010, 01:47 PM
  2. The old pc no broadband blues
    By Organicpete in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21-03-2007, 02:10 PM
  3. Blues Clues
    By Metla in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23-11-2005, 11:41 AM
  4. CD-R blues
    By WalOne in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-01-2004, 08:43 PM
  5. compaq blues
    By travis in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-11-2002, 02:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •