Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,629

    Default NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    I have recently set up a new NB6Plus4Wn ADSL router it is running well as far as I know. The Current Firmware Version on it is: 3.103z. NetComs site says that the current firmware version is 3104d. My question follows. Is it advisable to upgrade to the latest version as a matter of course or would I be better advised to leave it as is?

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    Unless there's some new feature that you need, or it's unstable currently, or there's a security vulnerability, then I'd not bother personally.

    Unfortunately there's no changelog as far as I can tell?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #3
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    Thanks for that Chill. The only thing I can see that is changed is the default Bandwidth mode goes from 20MHz to 40MHz to optimize the 11n Wi-Fi performance.

  4. #4
    morgenmuffel
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Putaruru
    Posts
    2,905

    Default Re: NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    Quote Originally Posted by CliveM View Post
    I have recently set up a new NB6Plus4Wn ADSL router it is running well as far as I know. The Current Firmware Version on it is: 3.103z. NetComs site says that the current firmware version is 3104d. My question follows. Is it advisable to upgrade to the latest version as a matter of course or would I be better advised to leave it as is?
    I am running mine with 3.104d and its fine, infact i am fairly sure it has been out for ages.

    Dont use the beta one floating somewhere unofficially ( adds ipv6 stuff)as apparently it was buggy and can stuff the router.
    Morgenmuffel - This word needs to be a part of the english language, in fact you should use it in everyday conversation

  5. #5
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    Quote Originally Posted by Morgenmuffel View Post
    I am running mine with 3.104d and its fine, infact i am fairly sure it has been out for ages.

    Dont use the beta one floating somewhere unofficially ( adds ipv6 stuff)as apparently it was buggy and can stuff the router.
    Thanks for that

  6. #6
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    Have updated to 3.104d without problem. It is running fine.

  7. #7
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    Good stuff

    How have you found the router so far? What made you choose that particular model?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  8. #8
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Good stuff

    How have you found the router so far? What made you choose that particular model?
    A first rate router, easiest to set up one I have used. I purchased it from PB on your recommendation (you should get a commision).
    I have had a Belkin and two Linksys modems before all of which I got to work ok on Wired Country/Compass. I tried an ASUS one which refused to perform correctly for either me or the Compass Tech who tried to help, I dumped it. This NetCom one, now on xtra ADSL was very easy to set up.

  9. #9
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    Quote Originally Posted by CliveM View Post
    I purchased it from PB on your recommendation (you should get a commision).
    Haha, I did? I recommend them so much I start forgetting who I've mentioned them to

    Glad to hear you're happy with it!!

    Edit: Yes, I should get a commission, that'd be lovely
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  10. #10
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,221

    Default Re: NB6Plus4Wn Firmware Update?

    Did you know these are actually just rebranded Dynalinks? (or vice-versa?)

    For example the plain NB6 is the same as the RTA1320 - just the firmware says "Netcomm" instead, and of course the case is different. But the hardware is almost identical.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

Similar Threads

  1. cant update modem firmware
    By GameJunkie in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-01-2010, 10:46 AM
  2. Intel X25-M G2 TRIM firmware update
    By wratterus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-01-2010, 04:28 PM
  3. Router slow after firmware update
    By V1sta in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2006, 05:33 PM
  4. Update Digi SLR firmware - EOS 300D to 10D
    By Ron_A in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-04-2005, 04:29 PM
  5. CDRW Firmware update
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-06-2000, 11:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •