Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 48 of 48
  1. #41
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,175

    Default Re: Internet on Win 3.1 laptop?

    If it's got hyperterminal or something I'd go with the null modem idea.

    Got one of those Parallel port CD-RW drives myself, use it on my 380ED, very useful device.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  2. #42
    morgenmuffel
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Putaruru
    Posts
    2,904

    Default Re: Internet on Win 3.1 laptop?

    Arachne browser for DOS, i think someone mentioned, i have used it, about 5 or 6 years ago with Dos 6.22 (or Dr Dos which I think is free) I think it was a p60, but it could have been a 486, It works but umm don't expect too much
    Morgenmuffel - This word needs to be a part of the english language, in fact you should use it in everyday conversation

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,928

    Default Re: Internet on Win 3.1 laptop?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
    I think it might be workable but v slow. The RAM is not enough, a typical webpage these days takes up 32MB doesn't it? For you, it might go into virtual memory.

    I have tried it on a Windows 95 system with just 32MB RAM and I was able to open Firefox which supported the current webpages (this was like 2yr ago). IE doesn't support newish versions with Win95.

    The challenge might be that you need software for your network card so it runs TCP/IP I think. Wireless won't be supported (that I know of).
    What????

    so you visit 30 pages and there's a gig gone...

    LOL - I don't think so! not sure where you got that idea from, but it's not correct - even something like http://nz.yahoo.com/ with all it's gfx files etc included is a total of 1.2 meg.

  4. #44
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7,419

    Default Re: Internet on Win 3.1 laptop?

    Quote Originally Posted by bevy121 View Post
    What????

    so you visit 30 pages and there's a gig gone...

    LOL - I don't think so! not sure where you got that idea from, but it's not correct - even something like http://nz.yahoo.com/ with all it's gfx files etc included is a total of 1.2 meg.
    I was meaning each webpage tab.
    If you just have one tab opened or you have the older browser and just have one window up (with one webpage) that takes 30MB.

    Obviously if you just have 1 webpage tab and continually surf for an hour it's not going to go up like that ..

    Following, I closed Firefox and reopened it and opened up Yahoo.com, it's on my Win7 x64.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	task-manager.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	33.5 KB 
ID:	2239  
    Last edited by Nomad; 27-02-2011 at 10:44 AM.

  5. #45
    Rad Member bot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,378

    Default Re: Internet on Win 3.1 laptop?

    Mmm. Even getting google to load would be good.
    ~NOBODY CARES~

  6. #46
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6,649

    Default Re: Internet on Win 3.1 laptop?

    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    You may be able to transfer the files via serial port and a null modem cable - IF Win3.11 comes with a suitable program.. not sure if it does,.
    ahhh , the memories.........
    or printer port transfer, using laplink or similar.
    Its been so long Ive forgotten the program we used to use for printer port transfers
    There will be some old freeware/abandonware that will do it. Laplink had some free versions a while back.

    Or try a suitable Linux Distro. that may be the easiest way as would be alot more up to date.

  7. #47
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7,419

    Default Re: Internet on Win 3.1 laptop?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post

    Or try a suitable Linux Distro. that may be the easiest way as would be alot more up to date.
    Where's the fun in that

  8. #48
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,175

    Default Re: Internet on Win 3.1 laptop?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    ahhh , the memories.........
    or printer port transfer, using laplink or similar.
    Its been so long Ive forgotten the program we used to use for printer port transfers
    There will be some old freeware/abandonware that will do it. Laplink had some free versions a while back.

    Or try a suitable Linux Distro. that may be the easiest way as would be alot more up to date.
    I don't think they can try anything, the floppy drive is screwed, apparently, and it seems it doesn't have a CD drive.

    Unless Linux can boot from a parallel-connected CD drive I don't think it's going to get anywhere.

    IF Win3.11 comes with hyperterminal or something then getting across the needed files (TCP\IP stack I think) via serial cable to get Win3.11 on the LAN may work... other than that I can't see a way unless the floppy drive is fixed.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

Similar Threads

  1. Laptop & Internet?
    By lostsoul62 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 02:02 PM
  2. LAPTOP INTERNET VERY SLOW!
    By dagangsta in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2010, 07:11 PM
  3. Desktop/Laptop Internet
    By f1frossy13 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-11-2008, 10:33 PM
  4. connecting laptop to internet
    By Buff_K in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-03-2007, 07:24 AM
  5. Laptop connecting to Internet
    By frossy13 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29-08-2003, 11:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •