Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Scooter Hoon
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    Me I had a homebuilt Quad Core with 4GB and 2x600GB drives running Vista64 with a nVidia GTX280 in it which I added 2x1TB drives, disconnected the 600GB drives and installed Windows Server 2008 R2 on. Also added Exchange Server 2010 and it is running well. Only had one hardware update from MS cause issues (had to restore from the daily backup). Have a 4TB NAS drive as a backup for all my PC's.
    Had to do quite a bit of reading for a start but works well. Can fire up the Hyper-V if required but no need yet. 4GB is a bit short for memory but is okay at present.
    Exchange Server 2010 is great and mail comes straight in. No waiting or polling ISP or other servers. Bit of a pain setting up with a dynamic IP but dyndns takes care of most of that.

  2. #12
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    I've been using a 1.6Ghz fanless Atom, with a 4GB CF card running FreeNAS and 3x external USB HDD's.

    I've also used a 500Mhz Geode on a PC Engines Alix system before, they're AWESOME!

    For WHS, you can install on almost anything, I've done it on a 1.6Ghz Atom just fine
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #13
    Generic Member The Error Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    3,602

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    Well, for the wireless/wired netwroking stuff it's all off the shelf.

    Wireless: http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=549
    Wired: http://www.netgear.com/products/busi...ers/GA311.aspx

    Now i'm not saying you should get these ones specifically. they were just examples however all the hardware you will need can be bought in a store.
    The Master Of Deception


    >~~ i7 Sandy Bridge 2630QM 2.0GHz ~~ 4GB RAM ~~ATI 6770M 1Gb~~ 640gb Pri HDD 1tb Secnd~~<

  4. #14

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    I'm running Server 2008 R2 on the following hardware:
    Core 2 Quad Q6600
    8GB Ram
    Asus P5Q Premium (4 full length PCIe slots, 4 x 1GB NICs on board, trunked)
    Dell PERC5i with BBU
    8 x 1TB WD GP (RAID 5, formats to about 6.5TB)
    4 x 320GB WD RE (RAID 10 for OS and VMs)
    Silverstone 1200W PSU
    Silverstone TJ07 case

    Build your own one and you can put together something awesome.
    If my business does well this year I will look at upgrading to dual xeons with at least 12GB ram.

  5. #15
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    Quote Originally Posted by Deimos View Post
    I will look at upgrading to dual xeons with at least 12GB ram.
    What for ?
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  6. #16
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,066

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    What for ?
    Bragging rights
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  7. #17
    Generic Member The Error Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    3,602

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    Quote Originally Posted by pcuser42 View Post
    Bragging rights
    SOMEONE has to win the local dick waving contest!

    Heck, I wrote up specs for something like that. Then the guy I told just laughed and took the piss every time not impressed

    Ah well, do you NEED that much power? don't waste your money!
    The Master Of Deception


    >~~ i7 Sandy Bridge 2630QM 2.0GHz ~~ 4GB RAM ~~ATI 6770M 1Gb~~ 640gb Pri HDD 1tb Secnd~~<

  8. #18
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    Quote Originally Posted by stuffed View Post
    Am looking to setup a home server probably using Windows Home Server software. Would like about 2 TB min for a start but be able to expand easily as required. It appears that HP has dropped out of this market. Any suggestions?
    Many thanks.
    Depends on what you'll be serving....

    If you're just doing file serving and some media streaming then an atom build or low power AMD will do fine.
    e.g.
    http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/D...-344032787.htm

    But I would probably get a reputable company like CL to build it. Essentially, it would be just the same as buying it off the shelf. Might want to also choose a better quality and larger case.

    At the moment there are not many (that I known of) WHS "off the shelf" servers for sale in NZ, so you'll probably have to go custom built.


  9. #19
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    FreeNAS can also re-encode things for sharing through DAAP I believe, so I suppose in such a case it might be beneficial to have something slightly more grunty. Still, it doesn't require THAT much processing power?!
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  10. #20
    Mac Wiz nedkelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Gulf Harbour
    Posts
    2,939

    Default Re: Hardware for a home server?

    Wish I could use freenas on my box I am building from scratch (including makeing a mobo try cause its not a pc case im using).
    But the sata raid card I bought does not work under freenas
    Quote Originally Posted by nedkelly View Post
    I did not think of that.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Error Guy View Post
    Loving the quote! "I... Did not think of that"

Similar Threads

  1. DIY Home Server
    By kiwipork in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20-06-2010, 07:04 PM
  2. SQL Server on home PC
    By Mike in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-04-2010, 02:10 PM
  3. Do you have a server at home??
    By jwil1 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 27-01-2009, 06:18 PM
  4. Extracting Hardware Drivers from WinXP Home
    By Timmy19 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-10-2004, 01:06 PM
  5. Home Web Server
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-04-2001, 09:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •