Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: Backup & Restore in Windows 7

    Pato - doesn't seem like there's any bad context menu entries, but have you tried starting up in safe mode and testing backup there?


  2. #22
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Backup & Restore in Windows 7

    wainuitech, Thanks for further info' on Revo. There was still some Acronis left but I am pretty sure it has all gone now. Unfortunately, the problem remains.
    I have another question. Could I just install another backup program and forget about the win7 one, or should I get this problem sorted. Obviously it is a windows application that is not working, would it be prudent to have it fixed.?

  3. #23
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Backup & Restore in Windows 7

    When I plug in my external HDD for backup it brings up a window:
    General Options: "Open folder to view files using windows explorer" and
    "Run backup to this drive using windows backup". If I click on the later it appears to
    backup but I have no indication such as a progress meter, so it is trying to work.

  4. #24
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,487

    Default Re: Backup & Restore in Windows 7

    Have you retried using the Backup and restore with the External drive connected ? Try and see if it will run. it "should" open regardless of having a backup drive attached or not. It does have to have a backup location to work.

    You really should have a backup, its a lot safer then not having one.

    One thing that comes to mind, if the Backup and restore is not working, -- are there any other functions broken as well -- obviously you wont know untill you need to use them.

    Personally, I dont like having a PC with damaged programs, sooner or later they may give problems to other functions as well. ---- But thats just my way I guess
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  5. #25
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Backup & Restore in Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Have you retried using the Backup and restore with the External drive connected ? Try and see if it will run. it "should" open regardless of having a backup drive attached or not. It does have to have a backup location to work.

    You really should have a backup, its a lot safer then not having one.

    One thing that comes to mind, if the Backup and restore is not working, -- are there any other functions broken as well -- obviously you wont know untill you need to use them.

    Personally, I dont like having a PC with damaged programs, sooner or later they may give problems to other functions as well. ---- But thats just my way I guess
    Yes. I have tried with and without the external HDD connected and I still can't open the Backup and Restore Center.
    I should get an indication of backing up, like a progress meter or something. I get nothing!! I haven't struck any other programs that are not working, yet.. I will take your advice and get it sorted out.
    Once again many thanks for all your efforts in trying to help me.

  6. #26
    Pedantic & Cynical Member Snorkbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tokoroa, NZ
    Posts
    4,438

    Default Re: Backup & Restore in Windows 7

    Until you get the Win 7 backup working ( if ever ) try this.

    http://www.fbackup.com/

    Does the job and it's free.

  7. #27
    Senior Member Pato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kapiti Coast
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Backup & Restore in Windows 7

    Quote Originally Posted by Snorkbox View Post
    Until you get the Win 7 backup working ( if ever ) try this.

    http://www.fbackup.com/

    Does the job and it's free.
    Thanks. As Wainuitech suggested, I need to sort out the problem, as there could be other programs not working.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 07:56 PM
  2. Restore Backup
    By kfoffice in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21-09-2008, 05:44 PM
  3. Backup restore
    By Greg in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-08-2006, 12:06 PM
  4. W2K Backup will not Restore!!!!
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-02-2002, 03:14 PM
  5. backup and restore in WME
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2001, 07:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •