Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Memory upgrade

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    109

    Question Memory upgrade

    Hi

    I am thinking of upgrading an old machine of mine for another member of the family. First step I thought would be to increase the amount of RAM but I am confused by the large range of options shown on the Ascent site. I am having problems identifying suitable replacements.

    The motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-8IEXP and the OS is XP SP3. I was hoping to increase the amount of RAM to 2 GB, probably by replacing the current modules (generic?). I have just checked the memory modules with Everest Home Edition. It would appear that I presently have 2 different modules. It reports DIMM1 as containing GC6CD404 - 512MB, unbuffered, DDR SDRAM, PC2700, no error detection. DIMM2 is 512MB, unbuffered, DDR SDRAM, PC2100, no error detection. I guess that means it is non-ECC. The memory timings for both modules @ 166 MHz are 2.5-3-3-7.

    I would be pleased if someone could make a recommendation for replacements.

    Thanks in anticipation.
    Michael

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Memory upgrade

    PC2700 - doesn't really matter what brand oir if they match or not.
    PC3200 should be backwards compatible too and easy to get.
    wipe your paws.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,421

    Default Re: Memory upgrade

    What is it going to be doing where you would see a difference between 1GB and 2GB?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    2,019

    Default Re: Memory upgrade

    What CPU does it have? ,seem it is a 845 board that supports 533/400 chips you could get a 3.0 or a 3.2 if you can find one

    http://www.mbreview.com/mbr-reviews/...-ga-8iexp.html

    Have a oldish Compaq with the 845 board running a 1.8 celeron and replaced with a 2.8 Northwood chip,fair flies now

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: Memory upgrade

    Thanks all!

    Now that I have got over my silly mistake concerning DDR and DDR2, I have found some Kingston RAM that looks just the ticket.

    Linw - don't know the answer to that question. The puter is not for me but I suspect it will not be over taxed - i.e. no games or videos. However, I note that just about every upgrade article I have ever seen nearly always mentions the RAM as the first upgrade to make. Maybe someone has shares in a chip manufacturer . I thought I would simply follow advice and make the upgrade while I was making other modifications.

    Lawrence - thanks for the query and comment. The CPU is in fact a P4 2.45. This old puter was fairly state of the art at the time of purchase. Still works OK and should suit another family member's needs.

    Thanks again to all!
    Michael

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,421

    Default Re: Memory upgrade

    MPG, those recommendations for adding extra RAM highly likely apply to machines with 256MB of RAM! XP, for run-of-the-mill software, runs OK with 512MB. 1GB is heaps and will not cause a bottleneck in this system. Let's face it, when XP was born, a gigabyte of RAM was probably not even in mainframes!

    The best thing you can do is make sure that unnecessary startups are stopped (usually 10-12 can be found in my experience). MSCONFIG will let you control these startups.

    A 2.4GHz cpu with 1GB RAM will run pretty well with a nice clean setup. Money spent on this machine will not give you a worthwhile return. By far the best upgrade is to a dual cpu but don't know whether that mobo will take one.

    Cheers and best wishes.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wellington Central
    Posts
    468

    Default Re: Memory upgrade

    It might actually be slower with 2GB if you are running XP! You will gain performance by doing a complete wipe clean of the hard-drive data; followed by reinstalling everything that is needed.

  8. #8
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: Memory upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by PENTIUM View Post
    It might actually be slower with 2GB if you are running XP!
    Please elaborate...
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

Similar Threads

  1. Memory upgrade
    By Driftwood in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 07:32 PM
  2. Memory upgrade
    By MPG in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-09-2008, 12:33 PM
  3. memory upgrade
    By bpt2 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-08-2008, 07:05 PM
  4. MEMORY UPGRADE
    By nzjab06 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 24-01-2008, 05:40 PM
  5. Memory Upgrade
    By Smurf in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-03-2003, 02:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •