Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: SID Change

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default SID Change

    Hi guys,

    I'm running windows 7 ultimate.

    I recently used newsid.exe to change the system sid, not knowing what its purpose was, and what it would do (which was stupid of me, i agree). The result is that it has somewhat crashed my computer which i am VERY distressed about and windows will load but the logon screen does not show, instead a bsod displays and then windows restarts, and eventually leads to the repair window, but even windows restore cannot recognize the problem.

    I was hoping you guys would be able to help me, as you have done so nicely in the past. I've had all the problems posted here solved adequately.

    Is there a way to make a bootable version of newsid.exe? because i remember my old SID and hopefully inputting it will make my windows functional again .

    I'm VERY distressed about this issue as it just happened a day ago, any help would be greatly appreciated.

    ps- i don't wish to reinstall windows, that is a last resort for me. My computer was customized alot, and redoing that would be a huge pain in the butt.

    (This post form a pc world forum member and that thread is closed, and i did'nt understand, what did he do, and i am in that position, my documents folder and desktop folder showing ZERO bytes.
    if some one help me about that or that member ''h4rsheys'' can help.
    i dont know much about pc if you tell me solution step by step.
    thanks in advance.)
    kh.khanzada@gmail.com
    Last edited by khalidhameed; 03-12-2010 at 05:48 PM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: SID Change

    Will it boot into safe mode? Probably not a good idea posting your email here. Have a read of this. Under SIDs
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 03-12-2010 at 06:01 PM.

  3. #3
    Pedantic & Cynical Member Snorkbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tokoroa, NZ
    Posts
    4,438

    Default Re: SID Change

    That member re installed which will fix your problem. Other than that restore the backup you made before fiddling with the SID.

    You did make a backup I hope!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: SID Change

    i did'nt create backup.
    my admin account change into guest account and have admin rights in safe mode also.
    i cant do any thing.
    Last edited by khalidhameed; 03-12-2010 at 07:14 PM.

  5. #5
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,746

    Default Re: SID Change

    newsid screws windows 7 full stop - no ifs but or maybe's.

    One thing you can try - it may work, is boot from your windows 7 DVD, and run the system restore. Full instructions here method 2 - IF you are lucky it will fix it, if not -- could be a hard lesson learned I'm afraid.

    All of your stuff will be there, just hidden.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: SID Change

    And as the saying goes, if it aint broke, dont fix it

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: SID Change

    should i try f8 option at startup
    system repair

  8. #8
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Levin
    Posts
    2,607

    Default Re: SID Change

    Or take the hdd out, hook it up to another computer as a slave (or external, if you have an adapter), and copy off your data (or use something like Recuva if necessary); reinstall the drive in the original machine then do a repair or reinstall (is it a brand name machine (Dell etc) or not, if it is, it may have a recovery partition).
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------
    "After your hands become coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch."

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: SID Change

    i have HP Laptop and it is'nt have a recovery partition, and if i reinstall the windows
    my data (desktop and my documents) will be there or gone?

  10. #10
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,746

    Default Re: SID Change

    Quote Originally Posted by khalidhameed View Post
    should i try f8 option at startup
    system repair
    You can try, but you need to run system restore-- its about the only hope . it may be better using your windows DVD or the recovery CD. Its either going to work, or it wont - as per the last square bullet point This article Notice the warning -- its there for a reason

    I've tried it a couple of times - once it worked , two times it didn't -- BTW-- I was mucking about trying to bust the OS and then fix it, as I've had a couple of people run newsid and screw things up completely.

Similar Threads

  1. Got one of these in the change jar?
    By KarameaDave in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 27-06-2010, 08:28 PM
  2. Not going to change?
    By Sweep in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-07-2008, 11:57 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-07-2007, 08:11 PM
  4. Oil Change
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2000, 06:08 PM
  5. Oil Change
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2000, 11:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •