Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29
  1. #21
    Pedantic & Cynical Member Snorkbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tokoroa, NZ
    Posts
    4,438

    Default Re: When will vdsl2 be available?


  2. #22
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: When will vdsl2 be available?

    Good that they're putting in such strict guidelines for the product and not just saying "Sure anybody can sign up". Hopefully that'll stop a lot of the bitching from ignorant consumers who don't realize the issue is more with their line and crappy CPE than the service itself.

    Pricing for the VDSL2 service is still being decided by the Commerce Commission which is preparing a final standards term decision after issuing a draft one, but is expected to be higher than for Telecom’s existing ADSL2+ service.
    And some people still ignorantly believe that FTTH will be cheaper than ADSL2+, when VDSL2 even isn't...
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #23
    Pedantic & Cynical Member Snorkbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tokoroa, NZ
    Posts
    4,438

    Default Re: When will vdsl2 be available?

    But CS the goal posts will change as usual and contracts will change as usual will they not?

    Sometime ago I left Telecom for Orcon as they promised no datacap and all I can eat etc and no nasty surprises on my bill. Orcon then reneged on that so I went back to Telecom. Then Telecom brought out Bigtime and we know what happend there don't we?

    I'm still with Telecom and have a 10 Gig datacap and I don't exceed that. It's affordable and works for me. Then again I don't use Torrents and feel the need to download the whole of the Internet.

  4. #24
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: When will vdsl2 be available?

    When I signed up for "Jetstream" nearly 10 years ago now, it was "As fast as your line will let you", we were getting 7800kbps. I think it was 5GB per-month too, though it may have been 10GB (To be honest I can't remember), all for the same price as you currently pay for a 10GB plan.

    What's changed?

    Note: That's rhetorical, I know that's changed and what hasn't ...
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  5. #25
    GoldMember davehold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: When will vdsl2 be available?

    I have a new ADSL2+ Cabinet at the end of the street. Its supposed to be live in a few weeks, so what performance gain should I expect to see... if any? I already have a Linksys ADSL2+ Modem/router.


    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    I just saw that my new ADSL2+ cabinet will support VDSL2 in December, which I live 200 meters away from.

    That sounds rather promising but I expect there will be some issues, such as:

    1) VDSL2 router will be at least $200
    2) Data cap will be 3GB, and that will cost $80
    3) it will get worse from there.
    HP DC 7600 Pentium 4 3.2Ghz, 2Gb DDR2 RAM, XP Pro 2002 SP3, Viewsonic VX2235 LCD, 500Gig WD HDD

  6. #26
    Pedantic & Cynical Member Snorkbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tokoroa, NZ
    Posts
    4,438

    Default Re: When will vdsl2 be available?

    You can EXPECT any performance gain you like. What you actually get is another matter however.

  7. #27
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,305

    Default Re: When will vdsl2 be available?

    Depends what you are getting now, how far you are from it, the actual copper length, the condition of it, and your house wiring...

    I went from connecting at 2Mbit to 15Mbit (but only download at 13.33Mbit)

    Still I think whatever killed my speed previously is also ruining my speed now as according to most websites anything under 900 metres should get the full 24Mbit.


    Also half the time when I turn my router on I have to reboot it so it will actually sync up. Happens on 2 different routers and never happened prior to the cabinet upgrade.

    But of course Telecom don't give a damn. Nor do I think would anyone else.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  8. #28
    GoldMember davehold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: When will vdsl2 be available?

    I am currently getting 2.8MBit and we are located 100-120 metres from the new cabinet. Here s hoping for that 13-15MBits.


    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    Depends what you are getting now, how far you are from it, the actual copper length, the condition of it, and your house wiring...

    I went from connecting at 2Mbit to 15Mbit (but only download at 13.33Mbit)

    Still I think whatever killed my speed previously is also ruining my speed now as according to most websites anything under 900 metres should get the full 24Mbit.


    Also half the time when I turn my router on I have to reboot it so it will actually sync up. Happens on 2 different routers and never happened prior to the cabinet upgrade.

    But of course Telecom don't give a damn. Nor do I think would anyone else.
    HP DC 7600 Pentium 4 3.2Ghz, 2Gb DDR2 RAM, XP Pro 2002 SP3, Viewsonic VX2235 LCD, 500Gig WD HDD

  9. #29
    Need more power
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: When will vdsl2 be available?

    Yawn, FTTD is coming for you Telecom, this isn't going to sway the government, your monopoly days are numbered
    .

    Intel I7 920@4.0 GHz (1.25V), Nvidia GTX580 OC 1.5GB, Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R (1366),Megashadow 2x120mm low speed fans,6 gig Ram (1600), Intel X25-M 80gig G2 SSD & 2x1TB Seagate, Win7

Similar Threads

  1. "Telecom will guarantee speeds on VDSL2 service"
    By johcar in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 06:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •