Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member Strommer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Masterton
    Posts
    3,869

    Question Port Forwarding - Internal Host IP Address?

    Can the Internal Host IP Address be the same as my router?
    Router is: http://192.168.1.1/

    See screen shot of error message and URL for instruction page (says "Static IP Address" ???)

    Screen Shot of error message.

    Instruction page.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Cellux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Masterton - Wairarapa
    Posts
    179

    Default Re: Port Forwarding - Internal Host IP Address?

    It can, but there will be a collision of two things having the same IP address and the computer won't be able to connect through the router to the internet.

    Run IPCONFIG from CMD.

    Start -> Run -> "CMD" enter -> "ipconfig" enter

    Default Gateway is usually your router.
    IP Address or IPv4 Address is the computer's Internal IP Address
    !!! WARNING !!!
    The above post may make no sense.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,572

    Default Re: Port Forwarding - Internal Host IP Address?

    The device or PC that you are connecting to has to have a staic IP by the looks of it other wise it can change next time it boots. So set the PC to a static IP , one that no other device is using and away you go.

    The router is 192.168.1.1 so the static IP can be anything you like as long as nothing else is using it, Eg: 192.168.1.65 (depends on the range the router can take normally 1-254)

  4. #4
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Port Forwarding - Internal Host IP Address?

    Quote Originally Posted by Strommer View Post
    Can the Internal Host IP Address be the same as my router?
    Router is: http://192.168.1.1/

    See screen shot of error message and URL for instruction page (says "Static IP Address" ???)

    Screen Shot of error message.

    Instruction page.
    what are you trying to do?
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  5. #5
    Senior Member Strommer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Masterton
    Posts
    3,869

    Thumbs up Re: Port Forwarding - Internal Host IP Address?

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    The device or PC that you are connecting to has to have a staic IP by the looks of it other wise it can change next time it boots. So set the PC to a static IP , one that no other device is using and away you go.

    The router is 192.168.1.1 so the static IP can be anything you like as long as nothing else is using it, Eg: 192.168.1.65 (depends on the range the router can take normally 1-254)
    Cellux and wainuitech - .

    All is OK now - Echolink is working perfectly. It has been awhile since I fiddled with IP addresses but now I remember - quite simple really. I just wanted to be sure, to avoid stuffing up my internet connection with an IP conflict.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Strommer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Masterton
    Posts
    3,869

    Default Re: Port Forwarding - Internal Host IP Address?

    What uses IP Addresses on a computer besides a router (and the software that I have)? Skype? Bluetooth? The only other IP address I see using ipconfig is the Default Gateway.

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    The device or PC that you are connecting to has to have a staic IP by the looks of it other wise it can change next time it boots. So set the PC to a static IP , one that no other device is using and away you go.

    The router is 192.168.1.1 so the static IP can be anything you like as long as nothing else is using it, Eg: 192.168.1.65 (depends on the range the router can take normally 1-254)

  7. #7
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Port Forwarding - Internal Host IP Address?

    Personally, I only do static addressing for routers\switches\printers and servers. You could of used the reservations function in the router so the PC gets the same address but is still on DHCP...
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  8. #8
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,572

    Default Re: Port Forwarding - Internal Host IP Address?

    Quote Originally Posted by Strommer View Post
    What uses IP Addresses on a computer besides a router (and the software that I have)? Skype? Bluetooth? The only other IP address I see using ipconfig is the Default Gateway.
    The static IP is for the Computer and mainly used for remote access from anywhere in the world (not team viewer either), but as SolMiester said, I also have static IP's on Printers connected to the router, Servers, the Wii and even my Blu-Ray Player is connected to the LAN & has a static IP.

Similar Threads

  1. Port forwarding
    By jcr1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-04-2010, 10:41 PM
  2. HELP Port Forwarding
    By cityhunter2000 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-11-2008, 01:13 AM
  3. about Port Forwarding
    By Pure2500 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2006, 10:03 PM
  4. port forwarding??
    By Codex in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 30-08-2005, 08:49 PM
  5. Port Forwarding for VPN
    By Growly in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18-05-2004, 09:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •