Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Breathing Legend™
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    West Auckland
    Posts
    938

    Default Dell Optiplex SX270

    Managed to pull this out of the garage and though i would put it to use. Appears the hard drive has failed, so, not wanting to buy anything else as i cant afford at the moment i was looking at a guide to put XP onto a USB hard drive, which i have an enclosure for, and a million drives. Problem is, i dont understand what to do, the guide is here and its talking about alot of complicated things. Is there a simple way to acheive what i want? Linux works, but i would prefer Windows if I can.
    I'm so boxing clever™

  2. #2

    Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX270

    Since you have "a million drives" why not just replace the internal hard drive with a spare you have and forgo the USB enclosure?

  3. #3
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,459

    Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX270

    I agree. Why not just swap the drives around?
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  4. #4
    Breathing Legend™
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    West Auckland
    Posts
    938

    Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX270

    because, the SX270 use an 2.5" IDE laptop drive. I only have SATA drives. And instead of spending 80 bucks to get an IDE drive I thought i would use what I had
    I'm so boxing clever™

  5. #5
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,459

    Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX270

    Fair enough

    I don't see what is so hard about that website you linked to though. It looks very well laid out and easy to follow.

    Just go through the steps slowly and carefully and it should work just fine
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  6. #6
    Breathing Legend™
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    West Auckland
    Posts
    938

    Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX270

    when i comes to unpacking the IN_ files....i cannot find the MS cab SDK for XP, or am i missing something?
    I'm so boxing clever™

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX270

    ? You usually extract (use the expand command) for IN_ files in a command prompt (if you do it manually). WHAT exactly do you want to extract?

  8. #8
    Breathing Legend™
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    West Auckland
    Posts
    938

    Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX270

    "Use the Cab SDK (from the command line) for extracting the contents of the .IN_ files. Each of them contains exactly one .inf file. If you are unsure how to use the Cab SDK, here is an example command line: "cabarc x USBSTOR.IN_" . You should end up with three new files in the folder,"

    Taken from the website i mentioned in my first post. Im going about a LONG and COMPLEX way of getting XP onto this computer
    I'm so boxing clever™

  9. #9
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,459

    Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX270

    You have to copy the files it says in step 4

    * TXTSETUP.SIF
    * DOSNET.INF
    * USB.IN_
    * USBPORT.IN_
    * USBSTOR.IN_

    Copy those files from the ISO image of your XP CD to a folder somewhere, doesn't matter where, you could put them on your desktop, wherever.

    Then open the command line, and change to the directory where those files are you just copied.

    Then run the command cabarc x "filename".IN_ 3 times, each replacing "filename" with the name of the file you wish to extract.

    OR, I think you could use the the expand command http://www.computerhope.com/expandhl.htm
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  10. #10
    Breathing Legend™
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    West Auckland
    Posts
    938

    Default Re: Dell Optiplex SX270

    I used the extract to unpack the IN_ files. the cabarc doesnt exist in my system so i couldnt use it. ive done the said modifications, how do i go back the other way and repack them as IN_ files? sorry im not a command line person.
    I'm so boxing clever™

Similar Threads

  1. dell optiplex 745 resource cd need help.
    By bluezone in forum PressF1
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 27-04-2010, 07:48 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31-12-2009, 07:53 PM
  3. Dell OptiPlex GX270
    By bpt2 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 19-08-2009, 10:27 AM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22-10-2005, 12:38 PM
  5. CPU for a Dell Optiplex G1
    By awoof in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-06-2003, 04:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •