Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Jungle Bhoy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    364

    Default Sky TV - screen size issue

    As an avid poker player/fan, I started watching the long awaited 2010 World Series of Poker coverage on ESPN on Sunday night. However, it was, in short, unwatchable. My TV is a 46" widescreen LCD. Sky box is a MySky HDi. The programme was shown in 4:3 format with black bars to left and right of the picture. However, the picture itself was obviously widescreen, as the hole-cards and the right hand edge of the community cards were off the screen. Thus it was impossible to follow the action.

    I tried various combinations of the settings for widescreen/pillar box etc, but none of the settings had any impact whatsoever.

    Is there any chance that it is an issue that I can resolve, or is it firmly in Sky's area? If it's with Sky, I'm probably best just going off and looking for the shows on torrent sites as Sky will just bring out the tired line "That's how we receive it from xxxxx".

  2. #2
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Sky TV - screen size issue

    I'm pretty certain ESPN is only shown in 4:3 format. Just checked it out on my Sony 40" Bravia.
    Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, GTX 560 TI 1GB DDR5 graphics card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram , Viewsonic VX2233WM LCD 1080P HD Monitor. Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD

  3. #3
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Sky TV - screen size issue

    You need to go into the settings and adjust the output for widescreen in your Sky box, not on your TV Set. I don't have Sky but I found the setting on my mother-in-laws Sky box in all of 20 seconds, just make sure you're using the Sky remote
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  4. #4
    Jungle Bhoy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    364

    Default Re: Sky TV - screen size issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Trev View Post
    I'm pretty certain ESPN is only shown in 4:3 format. Just checked it out on my Sony 40" Bravia.
    It is. That much I knew. But normally when showing a program recorded in Widescreen, the ESPN picture will appear in widescreen format in the centre of the screen - i.e. still within the horizontal confines of the 4:3 format, but with black bars also appearing above/below the picture.

  5. #5
    Jungle Bhoy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    364

    Default Re: Sky TV - screen size issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    You need to go into the settings and adjust the output for widescreen in your Sky box, not on your TV Set. I don't have Sky but I found the setting on my mother-in-laws Sky box in all of 20 seconds, just make sure you're using the Sky remote
    I've been there Chill. Tried everything. And the Sky box is definitely controlling the widescreen stuff.

    What I'm hoping for is that somebody else on here watches the poker and can confirm/deny that what I am seeing is all there is. If I have a setting wrong, that will be great, but I can't honestly see that I have. I have worked methodically through each setting on the sky box.


  6. #6
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Sky TV - screen size issue

    ESPN is only shown in 4:3 - like a whole lot of other channels. It's not your TV, and it's not your Sky decoder - it is the broadcast. In this case it looks like they have buggered something up with the aspect ratio, but there is nothing you can do about it, and probably nothing Sky can do about it either.
    Last edited by wratterus; 04-08-2010 at 01:07 PM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  7. #7

    Default Re: Sky TV - screen size issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Miami Steve View Post
    What I'm hoping for is that somebody else on here watches the poker and can confirm/deny that what I am seeing is all there is.
    I was watching the same last night and also couldn't get the whole picture on screen. The pot total was also cut off.

    I wondered if it was off ESPN's HD channel but since we aren't lucky enough to have the same here in NZ, we got the feed though Sky's sub-standard channel.
    www.theboss.co.nz

    New Zealand Motorsport Forums. Also have fun playing our online Arcade games.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Sky TV - screen size issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    You need to go into the settings and adjust the output for widescreen in your Sky box, not on your TV Set. I don't have Sky but I found the setting on my mother-in-laws Sky box in all of 20 seconds, just make sure you're using the Sky remote
    ESPN and a few other Sky channels are only shown in 4:3 in NZ. Playing around with the Sky decoder settings won't do anything. I did a posting about that awhile ago.
    Intel i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad Core, Asus P8Z 68-V LE MB, GTX 560 TI 1GB DDR5 graphics card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 ram , Viewsonic VX2233WM LCD 1080P HD Monitor. Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 64MB Sata3 HD

  9. #9
    Member davidmmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The mighty Waikato...
    Posts
    828

    Default Re: Sky TV - screen size issue

    I emailed Sky a couple of weeks ago about the the UCL which is on ESPN, this is what they replied:

    There are no plans to secure rights for the UEFA Champions League as stated in your email, ESPN already provides coverage of this in our region and we regret any inconvenience for the picture quality on the Pacific Rim feed.


    A-not-so-legal form of downloading may be the way to go .

  10. #10
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,409

    Default Re: Sky TV - screen size issue

    I wouldn't pay for that. Wait, I don't anyway...

    They deserve to have it pirated. What the hell is the point in paying for it if it's useless?
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

Similar Threads

  1. IE screen size
    By Valerie in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14-11-2004, 02:08 PM
  2. screen size
    By effie C in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-07-2003, 09:51 AM
  3. Screen Size
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-04-2002, 01:06 PM
  4. Win2k screen size
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-06-2001, 11:59 PM
  5. Screen size
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-07-2000, 03:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •