Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    I’m using Remote Desktop into my home notebook, which is working very nicely. Can disconnect and re-connect multiple times with no issues. When I get home and check the notebook, it is still running but the screen is blank. No cursor, no nothing. Manually rebooting the notebook is the only way I can get it up and running again.

    I have tried this on my work PC (also Win7 Pro) and can’t replicate the problem. The only real difference I can see is that I use my notebook with several different TVs and projectors, and there are a few monitors set up in display properties. Could it be outputting to one of these?

    Anyone else come across this issue? A google brings up quite a few hits, no one seems to have found a resolution yet.
    Last edited by wratterus; 29-06-2010 at 03:51 PM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    Could be this?. Hardware compat issue

  3. #3
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    Hmm, I've got a Tosh A100 with an ATI Mobility Radeon X1300. Drivers December 08. Can't remember what the exact model is, I will have to check on that when I get home and see if there are any newer drivers, I doubt it.

    Edit - Hah, good old tosh diag tool, tells me exactly what the model is from here.

    Latest version from Toshiba is 8.432, I seem to have a newer version that that.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	114 
Size:	59.7 KB 
ID:	1458  
    Last edited by wratterus; 29-06-2010 at 04:08 PM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  4. #4
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    The only real difference I can see is that I use my notebook with several different TVs and projectors, and there are a few monitors set up in display properties. .
    I'd guess it is, confusing it.......You have separate hardware profiles set up for it's various places?
    wipe your paws.

  5. #5
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by pctek View Post
    I'd guess it is, confusing it.......You have separate hardware profiles set up for it's various places?
    I haven't knowingly set up different hardware profiles, but there are 3 screens showing up in the display properties. I'll try and get rid of those so it's back to default and see if the issue still occurs.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  6. #6
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    You could test by pulling the plug from the other outputs, the screen should come back on, if the multiple displays was confusing it!
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  7. #7
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    It's not plugged into any external displays 99% of the time. I suppose I could walk around and plug it into external displays and see if it's displaying something on those screens.

    FYI on my notebook the external screens still show up in display properties even when they are disconnected.
    Last edited by wratterus; 29-06-2010 at 04:33 PM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  8. #8
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    I've removed those other screens that were showing up in display properties, and I had another thought. I always close the lid of the notebook, I'm wondering if perhaps windows isn't seeing the notebook screen when the lid is closed, so I've left it open today and we'll see what happens.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  9. #9
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    Left the screen open today, was all good when I got home. Will shut it tomorrow and see if the problem re-occurs.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  10. #10
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Black screen when remote desktop disconnects in Win7 Pro

    OK, after mucking around with a few different setups, I can definitely say that in my situation it was having the screen closed that caused the issues, guess windows couldn't see that the screen was present when it was shut. I'll just leave it slightly open and problem solved.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

Similar Threads

  1. New Keyboard for Desktop - not black
    By bellbird in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-10-2008, 08:19 PM
  2. Remote Desktop :S
    By WarNox in forum PressF1
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 14-10-2007, 12:55 PM
  3. Black Screen after splash screen WinXppro
    By Ockerr in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-10-2007, 03:26 PM
  4. Remote desktop fuill screen for DOS
    By mccauley in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-11-2006, 08:15 PM
  5. Remote desktop v Remote Web Connection
    By berryb in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22-03-2005, 09:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •