Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: CPU Upgrade

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    254

    Default CPU Upgrade

    Running an old computer with an MS6390 motherboard, 1248MB Ram and a 1.3G AMD Duron processor.

    Probably unsurprisingly the system is a little slow.

    For a real dummy - would upgrading the CPU to 1.8 or better speed things up?

    Replacing the system is not an option - the computer is for the kids and we don't have the cash to upgrade.

    It looks like there are AMD socket 462 processors around on trade me - I guess I'm not going to get a new one.

    The board supports:
    "Supports Socket A (Socket-462) for AMD® Athlon™/Athlon™ XP /Duron™
    processor
    Supports 1GHz to 2000+MHz and higher processor"

    Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome - just don't say replace the system - but remember that my technical knowledge is extremely limited!

    Many thanks

    Chris

  2. #2
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: CPU Upgrade

    I don't believe you would see much increase in speed.

    Probably the first thing I would do is reformat the PC and reload the O/S and Programs.

    It's bound to have picked up a lot of stuff into the registry over time.

    I'd go to a 2 gig CPU or better if you do want to replace the current one.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    254

    Default Re: CPU Upgrade

    Sorry Sweep - forgot to say that the reformat and reload was done.

    I am using MSSE and I've tried the fix above - it appears to have made a small difference.

  4. #4
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,184

    Default Re: CPU Upgrade

    WOW, socket A and still going!...I was going to say add RAM, but you already have over a gig!....You might get it to 1.5 by clocking but not really worth the work, single core, crippled L2 cache, low IPC.....
    I'm with sweep, fresh install of the O/S would help, but not much point spending any money on it...
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  5. #5
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: CPU Upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Randal View Post
    Sorry Sweep - forgot to say that the reformat and reload was done.

    I am using MSSE and I've tried the fix above - it appears to have made a small difference.
    So get the fastest CPU the board will take then will be the way to go. I'd update to the latest BIOS on the board before you swap out the current CPU.

  6. #6
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: CPU Upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Randal View Post


    would upgrading the CPU to 1.8 or better speed things up?

    Yes, so long as it isn't another Duron. Make sure its a proper full AMD CPU. It won't accomplish miracles but it will help.

    Also I'd format it and do a complete fresh reinstall - that accomplishes wonders after a while.
    wipe your paws.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    254

    Default Re: CPU Upgrade

    Thanks Sweep

    I guess that I'm not going to find a new processor - it'll have to be a trade me job?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    254

    Default Re: CPU Upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by pctek View Post
    Yes, so long as it isn't another Duron. Make sure its a proper full AMD CPU. It won't accomplish miracles but it will help.

    Also I'd format it and do a complete fresh reinstall - that accomplishes wonders after a while.
    So try and find a AMD XP processor?

    I did try CCleaner - that got rid of an awful lot of rubbish left over from the clean install and made a tiny difference.

  9. #9
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: CPU Upgrade

    AMD Athlon or Athlon XP and first identify the revision of Motherboard you have. There seems to be two models. Then update the BIOS before upgrading CPU.

  10. #10
    In a 1920s time warp Terry Porritt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Upper Hutt
    Posts
    5,361

    Default Re: CPU Upgrade

    Because your front side bus is 266MHz, an AMD 2100+ at 1.7MHz is the fastest cpu your board will take. An AMD XP 2400+ for example which can run 333MHz FSB will just revert back to the equivalent of an XP 2100+.

    AFAIK that is.

Similar Threads

  1. cpu upgrade
    By jsully in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25-08-2006, 11:14 PM
  2. W98 se upgrade
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-02-2002, 08:22 PM
  3. Upgrade
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-02-2002, 03:08 PM
  4. upgrade
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2002, 12:35 PM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2002, 06:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •