Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The Paradise. That IS Picton!
    Posts
    179

    Default Advanced SystemCare Pro

    Please. Could some kind person tell me, if this is an OK App. Or, a waste of time. It's just that it finds an awful lot wrong with the system. More than"CCleaner" & "Glarys" combined. And. It's due to have more money pumped into it. Like. Up-dating the licence. !!!

  2. #2
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Levin
    Posts
    2,621

    Default Re: Advanced SystemCare Pro

    Wouldn't bother with it personally, why pay for something you can do for free (i.e. Ccleaner).
    It's just that it finds an awful lot wrong with the system.
    Sounds like it's almost scareware, telling you untruths to justify you continuing to pay for it.
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------
    "After your hands become coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch."

  3. #3
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: Advanced SystemCare Pro

    I tried the free version and it did nothing for me. I mostly checked it as it had auto disk defrag.

    Just my opinion.

  4. #4
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,305

    Default Re: Advanced SystemCare Pro

    Yeah you have to be wary of some programs, they pretend you have heaps of errors and then pretend to fix them. In reality, they do nothing.

    If you can be bothered, use something like Sysinternals Process monitor to see exactly what it's doing, and check that it'd doing what it says it is...
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  5. #5
    In a 1920s time warp Terry Porritt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Upper Hutt
    Posts
    5,361

    Default Re: Advanced SystemCare Pro

    I ran it for a while when it was offered free on GOTD. It found more registry entries to delete than other cleaners, but it would appear that many of these get put back again anyway, as the cleaner would find them over and over again.

    But IOBIT, is not to be trusted, they were discovered to have been stealing from Malwarebytes:

    "Malwarebytes has recently uncovered evidence that a company called IOBit based in China is stealing and incorporating our proprietary database and intellectual property into their software. We know this will sound hard to believe, because it was hard for us to believe at first too. But after an indepth investigation, we became convinced it was true. Here is how we know.".................


    http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index...howtopic=29681

  6. #6
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,305

    Default Re: Advanced SystemCare Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry Porritt View Post
    It found more registry entries to delete than other cleaners, but it would appear that many of these get put back again anyway, as the cleaner would find them over and over again.
    Or it was lying, pretending to detect the same problems over and over when they weren't really there...
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The Paradise. That IS Picton!
    Posts
    179

    Default Re: Advanced SystemCare Pro

    Thanks for all your help folks. Much appreciated. Rather than up-dating the license. I'll tell the 'app' to "Go Away" !!

  8. #8
    Pedantic Bloke Sweep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Tokoroa
    Posts
    7,671

    Default Re: Advanced SystemCare Pro

    Looks like more againsts than fors.

  9. #9
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,305

    Default Re: Advanced SystemCare Pro

    I can't really say I'm against it or for it, but going by the description it may be one of those programs which invents problems and then pretends to fix them.

    The only way to know for sure would be to test it out while monitoring the registry keys it claims it's scanning\fixing etc to see if it is actually doing what it says it does
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The Paradise. That IS Picton!
    Posts
    179

    Default Re: Advanced SystemCare Pro

    "Agent 24" Thanks for the "Tip" Have Installed "Process Monitor", Now. I've just got to learn HOW to use it. Pretty straight forward, I know, but I'm a bit thick

Similar Threads

  1. Xtra Pro advanced problems
    By wills1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-10-2008, 07:37 PM
  2. WxC advanced feature set
    By lakewoodlady in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-06-2008, 04:13 PM
  3. 2k Advanced Server
    By Danman in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-12-2003, 06:31 AM
  4. Advanced TCP/IP settings
    By Greg S in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29-11-2003, 11:58 AM
  5. Advanced Settings Can't be Seen??
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-11-2000, 08:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •