Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Wainui, Rodney
    Posts
    3

    Cool Want to hook Mac into wireless XP network?

    Airport on the Mac (OS10.something) is recognizing my network that works well from XP desktop to XP laptop. None of the passwords that I have tried are recognised. Have printed out my wireless network settings after looking at D-Link documentation but no sign of the password I used when I set it up 2 years ago. Any ideas please

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Want to hook Mac into wireless XP network?

    Reset the router / reconfigure it, re-enable wireless, put another pw in, then save settings

  3. #3
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Want to hook Mac into wireless XP network?

    I'm with Speedy, though here's a slightly more detailed explanation:

    On your XP desktop or XP Laptop you should be able to join the wireless network. From there you may want to try something like:
    http://192.168.1.1
    http://10.0.0.1
    http://10.1.1.1
    http://192.168.2.1

    One of those is most likely to be the routers WebGUI.

    Chances are the username & password are both "admin" in lower case.

    From there, you want to have a nosey around to either reset it to factory defaults, or see if it will tell you what you previously set the wireless password to.

    Another thing, on the Mac, click on the Apple up the top-left hand corner of your screen and then click on "About this Mac".

    It'll tell you your OS version
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  4. #4
    Mac Wiz nedkelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Gulf Harbour
    Posts
    2,939

    Default Re: Want to hook Mac into wireless XP network?

    easier way to do it instead of resetting it is get Wireless Key View (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wireless_key.html) and run it on your xp machine to get the wireless key and then use it to connect the mac to your network. If you do need more help with the mac I can walk you through it step by step, when you say what Mac OS you have.
    Quote Originally Posted by nedkelly View Post
    I did not think of that.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Error Guy View Post
    Loving the quote! "I... Did not think of that"

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    855

    Default Re: Want to hook Mac into wireless XP network?

    Also if it is an older Mac it may not like the security you have on the wireless. You may have to lower the security for the Mac to work but as stated will depend on the Airport version.

    More likely you have forgotten the password!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Wainui, Rodney
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Want to hook Mac into wireless XP network?

    My system is:
    Powermac G4
    OS 10.3.9

    Airport Extreme v 3.2GMc1 (3.30.15.p7)

  7. #7
    Mac Wiz nedkelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Gulf Harbour
    Posts
    2,939

    Default Re: Want to hook Mac into wireless XP network?

    Ok did you get the password from your xp laptop with the program I suggested?
    Quote Originally Posted by nedkelly View Post
    I did not think of that.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Error Guy View Post
    Loving the quote! "I... Did not think of that"

  8. #8
    Boulful Sallad goodiesguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    2,856

    Default Re: Want to hook Mac into wireless XP network?

    you should really upgrade to os x 10.4 tiger. that is what i have on my powermac g4 and it beats os x 10.3's ass. plus our wireless if fine on it
    PC: Intel® Core™ i5-650 3.20 GHz | Intel® Desktop Board DQ57TM | 8GB DDR3 RAM | Radeon HD 4870 | Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

  9. #9
    Mac Wiz nedkelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Gulf Harbour
    Posts
    2,939

    Default Re: Want to hook Mac into wireless XP network?

    Galaxy might not be able to upgrade
    Quote Originally Posted by nedkelly View Post
    I did not think of that.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Error Guy View Post
    Loving the quote! "I... Did not think of that"

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25-06-2009, 07:24 PM
  2. Skybox dvd tv hook up
    By Strummer in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 17-12-2008, 11:27 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 07:54 PM
  4. help hook wireless to telstra cable network
    By davygravy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-06-2006, 01:44 PM
  5. HDD DVD hook up to PC
    By manu in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24-08-2005, 10:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •