Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Random DC's.

  1. #1
    Senior Member Mister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    259

    Default Random DC's.

    Well... So I started playing WoW again but that's not really the problem :P

    Anyway.. Whilst playing, all is well. Until recently, where I've started to be randomly disconnected while playing. Just out of the blue, they follow no specific pattern, or anything. At first I thought it was my internet, But I invited a friend over, who played at my house for 2 days. Not once did he disconnect, but I did. My firewall is off, I use MSSE and SuperAnti Spyware.

    I've tried talking to blizzard but they didn't seem to know what was going on.

    Just some additional Info, I'm connected by a wire to a Linky's Cisco Router, I can't tell what model. Uhm, the disconnections happen mainly in Arena.

    If you need any more info, please ask.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Random DC's.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mister View Post
    Well... So I started playing WoW again but that's not really the problem :P
    Yes it is

    Anyway you said that your mate didn't disconnect, but you did.
    IF you were both playing at the same time, I'd say that it's most probably software-related, but it's not unheard of for the router to be dropping your connections while still allowing his. Read my thoughts here:
    http://chillingsilence.wordpress.com...a-good-router/

    That said, it's quite likely software, so run HiJackThis and see what processes are running
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #3
    Senior Member Mister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    259

    Default Re: Random DC's.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Yes it is

    Anyway you said that your mate didn't disconnect, but you did.
    IF you were both playing at the same time, I'd say that it's most probably software-related, but it's not unheard of for the router to be dropping your connections while still allowing his. Read my thoughts here:
    http://chillingsilence.wordpress.com...a-good-router/

    That said, it's quite likely software, so run HiJackThis and see what processes are running
    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.3 (BETA)
    Scan saved at 1:18:32 p.m., on 22/04/2010
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP3 (6.00.2900.5512)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Essentials\MsMpEng.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\ASUS\EPU-4 Engine\FourEngine.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\GamePanel Software\LCD Manager\LCDMon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\GamePanel Software\G-series Software\LGDCore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jusched.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Essentials\msseces.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\GamePanel Software\LCD Manager\Applets\LCDClock.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\GamePanel Software\LCD Manager\Applets\LCDCountdown.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\GamePanel Software\LCD Manager\Applets\LCDPop3.exe
    C:\Program Files\Logitech\GamePanel Software\LCD Manager\Applets\LCDMedia.exe
    C:\Program Files\DivX\DivX Update\DivXUpdate.exe
    C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SUPERAntiSpyware.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\MOM.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\ccc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Bonjour\mDNSResponder.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jucheck.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\TrendMicro\HiJackThis\HiJackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Int ernet Settings,ProxyOverride = *.local
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: Windows Live Sign-in Helper - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Six Engine] "C:\Program Files\ASUS\EPU-4 Engine\FourEngine.exe" -r
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ASUS Update Checker] C:\Program Files\ASUS\ASUSUpdate\UpdateChecker\UpdateChecker. exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Launch LCDMon] "C:\Program Files\Logitech\GamePanel Software\LCD Manager\LCDMon.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Launch LGDCore] "C:\Program Files\Logitech\GamePanel Software\G-series Software\LGDCore.exe" /SHOWHIDE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jusched.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RTHDCPL] RTHDCPL.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Reader Speed Launcher] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe ARM] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\ARM\1.0\AdobeARM.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSSE] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Essentials\msseces.exe" -hide -runkey
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StartCCC] "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CLIStart.exe" MSRun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DivXUpdate] "C:\Program Files\DivX\DivX Update\DivXUpdate.exe" /CHECKNOW
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SUPERAntiSpyware] C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SUPERAntiSpyware.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Pando Media Booster] C:\Program Files\Pando Networks\Media Booster\PMB.exe
    O4 - Startup: CurseClientStartup.ccip
    O9 - Extra button: Blog This - {219C3416-8CB2-491a-A3C7-D9FCDDC9D600} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Writer\WriterBrowserExtension.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Blog This in Windows Live Writer - {219C3416-8CB2-491a-A3C7-D9FCDDC9D600} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Writer\WriterBrowserExtension.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {E2883E8F-472F-4FB0-9522-AC9BF37916A7} - http://platformdl.adobe.com/NOS/getPlusPlus/1.6/gp.cab
    O18 - Protocol: skype4com - {FFC8B962-9B40-4DFF-9458-1830C7DD7F5D} - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\Skype\SKYPE4~1.DLL
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASWINLO.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: Avira AntiVir MailGuard (AntiVirMailService) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avmailc.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Avira AntiVir Scheduler (AntiVirSchedulerService) - Avira GmbH - C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\sched.exe
    O23 - Service: Avira AntiVir Guard (AntiVirService) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avguard.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Avira AntiVir WebGuard (AntiVirWebService) - Avira GmbH - C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\AVWEBGRD.EXE
    O23 - Service: Apple Mobile Device - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
    O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: Bonjour Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\Bonjour\mDNSResponder.exe
    O23 - Service: Google Update Service (gupdate) (gupdate) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    O23 - Service: Java Quick Starter (JavaQuickStarterService) - Sun Microsystems, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    O23 - Service: nTune Service (nTuneService) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\nTune\nTuneService.exe (file missing)

    --
    End of file - 6816 bytes


    Hmm, looking at that it says Avira Anti virus has some things going. But I uninstalled that thing months ago

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Random DC's.

    You can tick these, then tick fix checked

    Close browsers

    HJT is now up to 2.04 btw

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jusched.exe"

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StartCCC] "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CLIStart.exe" MSRun

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DivXUpdate] "C:\Program Files\DivX\DivX Update\DivXUpdate.exe" /CHECKNOW

    Uninstall this

    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Pando Media Booster] C:\Program Files\Pando Networks\Media Booster\PMB.exe

    I have no idea what this is

    O4 - Startup: CurseClientStartup.ccip

    Uninstall Avira, you dont need (or shouldnt use / have) 2 AV programs

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    259

    Default Re: Random DC's.

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    You can tick these, then tick fix checked

    Close browsers

    HJT is now up to 2.04 btw

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jusched.exe"

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StartCCC] "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CLIStart.exe" MSRun

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DivXUpdate] "C:\Program Files\DivX\DivX Update\DivXUpdate.exe" /CHECKNOW

    Uninstall this

    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Pando Media Booster] C:\Program Files\Pando Networks\Media Booster\PMB.exe

    I have no idea what this is

    O4 - Startup: CurseClientStartup.ccip

    Uninstall Avira, you dont need (or shouldnt use / have) 2 AV programs
    Ok thanks. Yeah no Idea what that Pando thing is, but it's gone now.

    And CurseClient is ok

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Random DC's.

    Seems strange , that people who have installed this curseclient file, their WOW accounts have been hacked

  7. #7
    Senior Member Mister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    259

    Default Re: Random DC's.

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Seems strange , that people who have installed this curseclient file, their WOW accounts have been hacked
    Hmmm interesting, Think I'll uninstall that.

  8. #8
    Insane Bozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    ...inside a binary byte...
    Posts
    1,238

    Default Re: Random DC's.

    Yea, don't use the CurseClient ae - just manually install any addons you use.
    Very simple: <WoW Directory>/Inferface/Addons and unzip them in there. But be sure to scan them first - and only download from trusted sites - a lot of people have been stung from downloading 'addons' which just turn out to be keyloggers.

    Out of interest - do the disconnections happen when the 'world' is rather busy? Like in Dalaran or during a raid/dungeon with a lot of adds?
    Try turning down some of the Effects settings - but be sure to leave Particle Density (think thats the one) to max so effects like fire/ice/slime etc still show up and you don't go standing in silly places

  9. #9
    Senior Member Mister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    259

    Default Re: Random DC's.

    Quote Originally Posted by DemonHunter View Post
    Yea, don't use the CurseClient ae - just manually install any addons you use.
    Very simple: <WoW Directory>/Inferface/Addons and unzip them in there. But be sure to scan them first - and only download from trusted sites - a lot of people have been stung from downloading 'addons' which just turn out to be keyloggers.

    Out of interest - do the disconnections happen when the 'world' is rather busy? Like in Dalaran or during a raid/dungeon with a lot of adds?
    Try turning down some of the Effects settings - but be sure to leave Particle Density (think thats the one) to max so effects like fire/ice/slime etc still show up and you don't go standing in silly places
    I don't raid no more, but I do go on the ocasional VOA. All my settings except shadows are on high, and on that ice boss, I'm on around 50 FPS. My cap is 60. So I wouldn't say it's hardware. Especially since it mainly only happens in arena.

    Although, it hasn't happened since I uninstalled that pando thing, I have no clue what that was.

    And with the curseclient. I only download the really popular addons, and I just read this from the link speedy posted.

    Here's a look at the addon approval process here on Curse:

    1. Addon Developers use CurseForge or WoWAce to upload zip files that eventually end up on Curse.com.

    2. Each zip file is run through a MULTITUDE of virus and trojan scanners.

    3. Executable files are forbidden except in very rare cases and we acquire and review the source code in these special cases.

    4. Every zip file, after being automatically scanned, is reviewed by CurseForge/WoWAce staff.

    5. The Curse Client has never, and will never, run any executable code in the files it retrieves.

Similar Threads

  1. Random Pop-ups
    By gum digger in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23-12-2006, 06:31 PM
  2. My computer keeps opening random sites at random times
    By Binary_bandit in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2006, 06:40 PM
  3. Do you get this random code?
    By Ninjabear in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2006, 09:11 PM
  4. **Random Startups?**
    By Sync_88k in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-03-2006, 06:09 PM
  5. Random Restarting
    By fus1_n in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18-11-2003, 01:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •