Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default glitched broadband speed

    Hi there !
    I happen to have an xtra broadband account.. the Explorer one
    10g/month $50
    says nothing about extra charges about going over and never have been charged
    nonetheless i blew my cap early this month.. within 4 days which is something i almost always do and consequently after that my speed dropped to dialup rate
    yet a few days later, the reduction disappeared. i am now downloading at full speed again despite the fact that the usage meter says i've used 150/10 gb !!

    now.. i am sure this plan has no extra charges for going over.. but this obviously looks like abuse

    am i allowed to link to reference my broadband deal ?
    https://www.telecom.co.nz/broadband/.../plan&detail=7

    should me and my flatmates be worried about an extra charge
    another plan costs $20 for every gig
    this would cost us.. $300 !!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

  3. #3
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: glitched broadband speed

    Quote Originally Posted by trumpcard View Post
    i am now downloading at full speed again despite the fact that the usage meter says i've used 150/10 gb !!
    If you are still at full speed I'd say thats an error.

    You don't get charged for going over - you get slowed.

    To make sure it isn't you.......
    Make sure you are using a decent antivirus - NOD32 or MS Security Essentials, and have at least 2 antispywares as well - SPybot and Malware BYtes.

    Update and run all 3 every week at a minimum.


    Make sure any P2P downloading S/W is not set to have people upload from you unrestricted.
    wipe your paws.

  4. #4
    Generic Member The Error Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    3,602

    Default Re: glitched broadband speed

    Unless telecom have a cry about it, be happy! full speed broadband again. If they do get upset, try to explain. hopefully they will believe you
    The Master Of Deception


    >~~ i7 Sandy Bridge 2630QM 2.0GHz ~~ 4GB RAM ~~ATI 6770M 1Gb~~ 640gb Pri HDD 1tb Secnd~~<

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: glitched broadband speed

    My telecom 1gb glitched this month and I got 3days of full speed again. Also on 64k I get heaps of packetloss or something - firefox often says 'connection to server lost'
    n610 2.0 P4 | 256mb | 2 x USB | 1.5tb

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: glitched broadband speed

    re: pctek..
    my windows and antivirus software is up to date
    spybot, ad-aware and avg

    this glitch has occured before several months ago and the usage went way over because of it
    but only roughly 15gb over
    150gb used on a 10gb plan

    it's kind of scary
    the terms and conditions of xtra broadband is vague
    can't even really summarize what is said.. basically 'please don't be naughty with our services'.

    oh well.. month ends soon and i get a fresh 10gb
    so maybe this will all just sweep its way under the radar

Similar Threads

  1. Broadband speed
    By Scouse in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 23-10-2009, 08:00 AM
  2. Broadband speed
    By JJJJJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 30-01-2009, 02:58 PM
  3. Broadband Speed
    By Mike_C in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29-12-2006, 12:46 AM
  4. What broadband speed is it?
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-09-2005, 02:59 PM
  5. Broadband Speed
    By loftyboyd in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-2005, 12:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •