Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1

    Question How To Activate Sound

    I cannot play sound on a Compaq Presario CQ61 running Windows 7.

    When I attempt to play a file with any programme I receive an error message, "Can't open output audio device!"

    I assume that a modern laptop will have the appropriate audio device but I do not know where to look or what to do.

    Your help would be appreciated.
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: How To Activate Sound

    Device manager under sounds. See if there's anything there. If theres something there (and the drivers have been installed), make sure the soundcard or whatever is the default device, under sounds in control panel

  3. #3

    Default Re: How To Activate Sound

    Thank you, Speedy.

    Device Manager tells me that both ATI High Definition Audio Device and IDT High Defintion Audio CODEC are installed.

    When I attempt to access Sounds I recieve an error message saying, "Audio Service Not Running. This computer cannot play audio because the Windows Audio Service is not enabled. Would you like to enable the Windows Audio Service?"

    When I click "Yes" a small Sound window opens which says that "No audio devices are installed."

    I imagine that Windows 7 or the Compaq has the audio devices required so I suppose that they can be installed. Any idea how I do that, please?
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  4. #4
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,219

    Default Re: How To Activate Sound

    It sounds like the sound drivers are not installed, or the default sound device is somehow selected one that doesn't exist.

    What is the full model number of the Laptop? It will be Compaq Presario CQ61-"something"
    Last edited by Agent_24; 16-03-2010 at 01:05 PM.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: How To Activate Sound

    The ATI one, is if youre using HDMI. Are you using HDMI with a monitor that supports HDMI? Where did the IDT High Defintion Audio CODEC come from? Windowsupdate, or did you install it? Or was it already installed?

    Dont know what audio service it's talking about, that service isnt even on here

    These MAY work
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 16-03-2010 at 01:16 PM.

  6. #6

    Default Re: How To Activate Sound

    Speedy, pardon my ignorane but I do not know what HDMI is.

    The IDT was already installed.

    Agent24, the label underneath says Model: CQ61-313AX.
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: How To Activate Sound

    The drivers are here. Just make sure you get the right version (32 or 64 bit version). Its the first driver in the list

  8. #8
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,219

    Default Re: How To Activate Sound

    That driver page only lists the IDT High-Definition driver which Roscoe says is already installed...

    Maybe worth a try downloading it and (re)installing that IDT driver anyway though?

    I fixed a similar problem on an IBM machine with XP and a SoundMax audio chip the same way.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: How To Activate Sound

    Well yer obviously it isnt working if there's no sound. If that doesnt work then something maybe dead

  10. #10
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: How To Activate Sound

    I would check under sound in the control panel and see what the default output device is, the HDMI output on the notebook sounds like it might have taken over.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

Similar Threads

  1. Activate a new HD
    By DavidW in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-06-2009, 11:15 PM
  2. Activate XP
    By kjaada in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-11-2008, 09:11 AM
  3. activate windows xp
    By gtr676 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 09:46 PM
  4. Windows Xp wont activate
    By bizzack in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31-01-2006, 10:34 PM
  5. Activate USB ports?
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25-04-2002, 05:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •