Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1

    Default Linksys Wireless Router

    I have a Linksys Wireless Router that I seem to have been able to connect correctly. The modem is connected and the laptop can see it. It says that it has local and internet access but when I try to connect to a web page IE says that it cannot display the webpage.

    Is there something, in IE, that needs to be changed or activated?

    As I am not a PC whiz I was feeling proud of myself until it came to that point. What to do? Your help will be appreciated.
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Linksys Wireless Router

    Is there a firewall on the laptop? if there is configure it

  3. #3

    Default Re: Linksys Wireless Router

    Not yet.
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Linksys Wireless Router

    Try giving the wireless on the laptop an ip address and put the DNS server ips in. Either the ISP's or google's (8.8.8.8, and 8.8.4.4)

  5. #5

    Default Re: Linksys Wireless Router

    Thank you, Speedy. How do I do that?
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Linksys Wireless Router

    Go into network connections (or wherever it is, depending on the version of windows), then go into the wireless properties / tcp/ip. If XP is on the laptop is SP3 installed?
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 04-03-2010 at 10:56 AM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Linksys Wireless Router

    The laptop is running Vista. I cannot see tcp/ip in Wireless Properties.
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Linksys Wireless Router

    control panel / network and sharing / manage network connections. The wirelss should be here. Highlight it / properties / IPv4 / tcp/ip

  9. #9

    Default Re: Linksys Wireless Router

    Thank you. I can see that. There is a tick in every box. (Would this be easier by phone? I too, am in Auckland.)
    It is better to wear out than to rust out.
    - Richard Chamberlain, Tour of the Hebrides

    Us husbands are a sorry lot.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Linksys Wireless Router

    The only one you have to go into is TCP/IP/IPv4. Go into this entry and change it to use the following ip address. Put a valid ip address in (the valid ip range the router uses). press tab then put in the ip of the router (the one you log into it).

    Then put 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 (for the DNS server ip addresses), underneath it. Then see what happens. What encryption are you using? Or we can see if teamviewer will work (even tho browsers dont work, teamviewer might). Then I can fix it from here

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless linksys router
    By Richardd150 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-07-2008, 10:43 AM
  2. Linksys wireless router problem
    By TGD in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19-02-2008, 11:51 AM
  3. Help with setting up Linksys wireless router
    By Shortcircuit in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-06-2007, 07:45 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-10-2006, 02:35 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18-09-2004, 09:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •