Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Wanderer

Default English grammar in computer courses.

Hiya

I am taking a few months off work and doing a IT course. Got a bit sick of writing reports and letters every day and doing relationship management just to get the information overdue to do my own job and then working last minute and 12hr hour sessions ....

I have my university degree.

I've had a few weeks of this IT course, they don't seem to have any focus on English grammar. It seems to be very practical. Every question is a multiple choice or a single word, or pick multiple choices from list. At times, practical questions that gets marked at your desk ie., to perform a computer task on the computer's HD. But no questions like a short statement or a paragraph let alone a written project or essay.

After working in some of the larger orgs and have liaised with IT staff I would of assumed skills for writing IT reports to update management would of been very important. To translate IT lingo into every day language that management understands.

Cheers.

Default Re: English grammar in computer courses.

Even posts can benefit from a dash of grammar occasionally.
    Entropy is not what
    it used to be.

In a 1920s time warp Terry Porritt's Avatar

Unfortunately, there are not many of us left nowadays who went to Grammar School.

My Grammar didn't either, left school at twelve
    Entropy is not what
    it used to be.

Quote Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
    ... would of been very important...
    Hmm...

In all seriousness though, universities are probably trying to make courses "easier" for international students whose English skills aren't necessarily the best, as they make a lot of money off them in fees etc.
    Any views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of my employer or any affiliated 3rd party.

Quote Originally Posted by somebody View Post
    Hmm...