Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Taupo
    Posts
    69

    Default scratching my head!!

    Hey Guys,

    I have just installed Win 7 Ultimate along with Office 2003 Professional. Everything is working sweetly....EXCEPT...Outlook 2003 will happily send messages but will not received any from the mail server - Xtra. Also tried an alternative mail server - REAP - with the same results. POP3/SMTP settings seem to be fine. Any ideas??

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: scratching my head!!

    So what pop settings are you using? have you selected SSL at all?

    I'd try removing and re-adding the account, but don't use the settings Xtra say to use, try these -

    pop3.xtra.co.nz

    smtp.xtra.co.nz

    part of email address before @ as the username

    No SSL or auth of any kind. See how that goes.
    Last edited by wratterus; 14-01-2010 at 04:26 PM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    Mac Wiz nedkelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Gulf Harbour
    Posts
    2,939

    Default Re: scratching my head!!

    have you set the number right? eg 437? 993?
    Quote Originally Posted by nedkelly View Post
    I did not think of that.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Error Guy View Post
    Loving the quote! "I... Did not think of that"

  4. #4
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: scratching my head!!

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    So what pop settings are you using?
    don't use the settings Xtra say to use
    They don't say at all, they give you 3 choices.
    try all 3, and see which it likes.
    wipe your paws.

  5. #5
    Mac Wiz nedkelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Gulf Harbour
    Posts
    2,939

    Default Re: scratching my head!!

    hang on I am using an xtra account. DUH. Will check what ones I am using
    Quote Originally Posted by nedkelly View Post
    I did not think of that.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Error Guy View Post
    Loving the quote! "I... Did not think of that"

  6. #6
    Mac Wiz nedkelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Gulf Harbour
    Posts
    2,939

    Default Re: scratching my head!!

    Ok for the incoming server I am using Server port Number 995 and Server requires encrypted connection (SSL) is ticked.
    Quote Originally Posted by nedkelly View Post
    I did not think of that.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Error Guy View Post
    Loving the quote! "I... Did not think of that"

  7. #7
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,033

    Default Re: scratching my head!!

    Quote Originally Posted by nedkelly View Post
    Ok for the incoming server I am using Server port Number 995 and Server requires encrypted connection (SSL) is ticked.
    Thats the settings for when xtra changed to yahoo Bubble - secure settings, often these days they stop working, one day fine next day zilch.

    Try setting back to the default 110 & 25 for the port numbers with no "Server requires encrypted ---" - that often fixes the problem.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Taupo
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: scratching my head!!

    Thanks for all your help guys. I've tried changing the settings and back again with no results apart from it telling me that on receiving, the connection to the server was interupted. It must be a Win 7 issue as it worked fine in XP Pro. Cheers Trev.

  9. #9
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: scratching my head!!

    Works fine for me under Win7, do you have security software or similar that perhaps is playing up trying to scan incoming mail?
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Taupo
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: scratching my head!!

    Hi inphintiy,

    I only loaded Win 7 yesterday so am still finding my way around it....it's great!! But I did load iolo System Mechanic Pro which has System Guard on it...which I disabled to see if that was causing the problem...I've also loaded Microsoft Security Essentials though.

Similar Threads

  1. Hard drive "scratching" sound
    By pcuser42 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 22-07-2008, 11:21 AM
  2. Off the top of your head.....
    By rob_on_guitar in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 17-05-2007, 06:55 PM
  3. Head gasket? :(
    By george12 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-07-2006, 01:47 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-12-2003, 08:24 AM
  5. New PC - old head.
    By Mike-Y in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-07-2003, 06:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •