Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    mm. Wonder what the diff is between that and the 4490. That 12181.exe file should work
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 28-11-2009 at 01:53 PM.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    356

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    Two issues here:

    1. I have an Epson 3490 Photo scanner that is running fine under 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium. I used Driver Genius 9 (from Avanquest) to get new drivers and I was surprised how easily it went. Don't give up yet, my scanner looks older than yours!

    2. Activation problem: This seems to be a real issue for some people, for some reason. I had similar problems.

    Check this site: http://www.winsupersite.com/win7/cle...rade_media.asp

    The method described using a registry hack (very simple) worked for me.

  3. #13
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    Yea it should Speedy. It all works like the XP version, Just scans crap quality, it is easier just to boot back into WinXp and scan from there for now. I use it quite a lot in XP so am aware of how it should all work and its settings. Plus my Scanfast SE software is not Win 7 Compatible. Might have to pay and update that, that might work.

    Checked the Key in the Win 7 32bit install again. Typed it in a couple of times. Also tried the key from the other Upgrade pack, and also tried my old Win XP Pro pack key. All just telling me invalid key. Real weird. Might format again and start the install again.

    Same msg whether the DVD is in the slot or not. It does try to check something, not sure if it is checking online or checking the DVD or checking the Install. No idea whats going on.

    XP Sure rules in comparison.
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  4. #14
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    Jayess It is not Activation i am having trouble with, I don't get that far.
    I already activated it with 64bit version. Now replacing it with 32 bit version, gets as far as entering the serial/key thats it.
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  5. #15
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    27,173

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    Quote Originally Posted by Bantu View Post
    Jayess It is not Activation i am having trouble with, I don't get that far.
    I already activated it with 64bit version. Now replacing it with 32 bit version, gets as far as entering the serial/key thats it.
    I assume you completely removed the 64bit version ?? as in either formatting the drive / wiping the partition that had the 64 - the two are NOT compatible you cant have any sign of the 64 bit left on the drive/partition if you are installing the 32.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    356

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    Quote Originally Posted by Bantu View Post
    Jayess It is not Activation i am having trouble with, I don't get that far.
    I already activated it with 64bit version. Now replacing it with 32 bit version, gets as far as entering the serial/key thats it.
    Sorry, I didn't read your original post carefully enough.

    I take it you have two separate Win 7 boxes, one for each PC, so you are not trying to install on 2 PCs with one key. What happens when you enter the key? Is there a message refusing to accept it or what?

    One thought occurs; you say you formatted your HD before installing the 32-bit Windows. This could mean that the installation software could not find a valid Windows installation and hence is refusing to proceed.

    Have you tried installing the 32-bit version without entering the key? This is actually the best way to install, as you then have 30 days to check everything works as you want it to before trying to activate.

    The link I included in my last post is for when you try to activate an upgrade install and you get message saying your key is not for an upgrade installation. That appears to be a Microsoft screw-up that the link gives a work-around for. It might work for you if formatting your HD is the cause of your problem.

  7. #17
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    wainuitech Yea format HDD before the 32bit Install as part of the Install.

    Jaysee No I have two purchases of Win 7 Upgrade. 2 packs, 2 CD's in each, two Keys etc etc etc.

    It will not install without the key, it gets to that point I can not go any further.

    The first 64bit install on this PC went fine, PLUS the 32 bit on the other PC went fine.

    I will try formatting the HDD with a third party app tomorrow instead of letting the Win7 Install format it and try the 32bit install again.
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  8. #18
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    Just a thought.
    If you formatted before install how does Win 7 UPGRADE know what to upgrade from?
    Also I believe the upgrade does not upgrade from XP anyway.
    And you can't use the upgrade version for 32 bit to 64 bit either.
    You don't need to format first anyway. Win 7 will format as necessary as part of the install.
    Suggest you buy an OEM 64 bit and install it.
    Jack GOF.

  9. #19
    Senior Bantu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    In My Auckland Office
    Posts
    2,009

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    JJJJ The upgrade path for XP is a Clean Install, but qualifies.
    PC2 32 bit install was to a brand new HDD. Unlike other Upgrades I have used in the past it NEVER asked to see the previous full version, nothing it just installed. All other HDD's were disconnected at the time.

    This PC 64 bit Install went the same way, never looked for anything.

    Win 7 Seems to keep its data somewhere else, as on PC 2 I tried to boot into the Old Win XP HDD by changing boot order in Bios. NO Go I could not boot into the XP HDD at all. Ended up setting up a dual boot in Win7 to be able to do that in the end was the only way.


    I am not buying anymore, if this does not work I will just keep xp for a bit longer.
    Just used Hirens to format the drive and trying again.

    Win7 initial hdd format did not do a great job, I could still see what was on it from XP so that was not a solution either
    Thermaltake Armor Case/1100W PSU
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard i7-960 3.2 GHz
    Gigabyte GV-N670OC-4GD GForce GTX-670
    Corsair 4x8GB, DDR3-1600 32GB
    5 x Seagate HDD's 3.0TB each
    Dual 22" ViewSonic Widescreen
    NexStar Dual SATA Dock

  10. #20
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: Windows 7 32/64 Bit Key/Activation

    Win 7 upgrade doesn't need to see your old disk, it just checks you have a qualifying program installed.
    It places the files of your old OS in a sparate folder called windows old.

    You could try re-installing XP on your formatted HD, and then try your upgrade. That should work
    Jack GOF.

Similar Threads

  1. Windows XP activation
    By Mike.H in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-10-2006, 09:28 PM
  2. Windows Activation
    By arche in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19-11-2004, 08:46 PM
  3. windows mx activation???!!
    By Mr_T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-12-2003, 05:13 PM
  4. Activation on Windows XP....
    By jackyht in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20-05-2003, 03:43 PM
  5. Windows XP Activation.
    By Mzee in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-2002, 11:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •